Skip to content

Prayer For The Week of November 4 — As Your Days

November 4, 2013
by

My four year old daughter has taken to celebrating.  Everything.  She makes decorations for the house and colors pictures for everyone as gifts.  She puts on the most joyful, get-your-dancing-shoes music she can find.  And she orders a celebration. And we all dutifully celebrate with her.

Yesterday afternoon, my eight year old decided to make up a new recipe.  So, we brainstormed.  For a late night snack we had taco-egg rolls dipped in pico de gallo.

I went to bed last night after dreaming and imagining about the future with my husband.  It was a hopeful time as we talked about what we wanted to do and places we wanted to go.  (Do you dream?  Do you let yourself imagine the possibilities?  And just as important, do you believe in the possibilities?)

I woke up this morning too dreadfully early because my 2 year old has no idea that we were supposed to Fall Back.  Oh, and we are out of coffee.  So, I gave my husband the last cup eked from the last grounds and rediscovered how much I adore Earl Grey with cream.  Which is nice to have when the child that woke up before six is falling apart by 9:30.

I’ve been trying this experiment where I get up at the crack of dawn so that I can see the first light of day and receive a blessing from the Lord and then speak it aloud over my family before they wake up.

Do you know how good God is?  I mean, He’s really good.

He called the Israelites out of Egypt had them wandering around in the desert for 40 years.  But, even then, do you realize the great goodness and mercy they experienced?  (Their shoes didn’t wear out even with all that wandering!  “Your garments did not wear out on you, nor did your foot swell these forty years.” Deut. 8:4)

Sometimes I feel so inept as a mother.  I remember once looking at my children (back when I had just three) and thinking, “When is your real mother coming to look after you?”  The novelty had sort of worn off and I was tired.  But, here’s the thing, whatever God has called you to, He has equipped you for.  He didn’t have His people wandering around the desert without equipping them with super-shoes.  He made sure that as long as He had them out there, they would have what they needed.

Of all the craziness of my life–the celebrations for no particular reason, the deep fried food at 8pm just because, the way-too-early mornings and empty coffee can, the journeying through this life with my husband–God has called me to this.  He  has called me to the dishes and the garden.  He has called me to the math lessons and chore lists.  He has called me to morning devotions and disciplining the child who is out of line.  To the library fines and the drum lessons and the hassle of extra paperwork that shouldn’t have to be done, but does.  To the sleepless nights and to the dreams of tomorrow.

In all of that, remember this: Thy shoes shall be iron and brass; and as thy days, so shall thy strength be. Deut. 33:25

As Your Days

Lord, I bless this day and offer myself as a channel by which You can bless my family and my world.  I strap on those shoes of iron and brass and take Your strength for my strength.  Give me eyes to see the blessing among the chaos and the treasures hidden away in a pair of sandals that will not wear out with all my wandering.  Amen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah D permalink
    November 4, 2013 8:08 pm

    This is beautiful.

    I was complaining, for lack of a better term, to my husband before he went to work tonight that I am sooo tired and ‘foggy-headed’. His reply put it into perspective. With a smile he said, “You know why you’re tired.” Yes, I do. I’m expecting our 4th blessing! I love your words, Daja: “…whatever God has called you to, He has equipped you for.” Thank you for the reminder. =)

    • November 6, 2013 10:27 am

      Congratulations on your pregnancy! May you be empowered everyday to enjoy the whole pregnancy and birth! BLESSINGS!

  2. Linda Stephenson permalink
    November 5, 2013 10:07 am

    Thank you Daja, your blog encouraged me, as we have a grandson living with us. It is very challenging and discouraging at times. I feel we are called to do this, which usually means me. Thank God HE HAS EQUIPPED ME.
    You are a blessing! Linda

Leave a Reply

