Skip to content

Prayer for Week of October 21–Getting Things Lined Up

October 21, 2013
tags:
by

I’m in the process of teaching several of my children business math, a la Charlotte Mason.  The concepts they understand just fine.  However, when I check their answers in their ledgers, the totals are sometimes wildly off.  Oy.

Going back over the ledger with them to find their mistakes, we find the cause is almost always the same: things aren’t lined up properly.  They might add the digits correctly, but the digits are in the wrong place to begin with.  A small positioning mistake at the top of the ledger and by the end of the assignment they are hundreds of dollars off.

*sigh*

Lining Thing Up

It got me to thinking about my day.  I might have great plans for the day.  But, if I don’t get things lined up properly at the beginning, it all falls apart by the end.  A hair off in the morning can mean that by supper time my day is completely off track.

I’m learning.  It’s a slow and painful process.  Just like my children having to erase and work it again and again.  And again.  And sometimes again.  I’m learning that I need to start my day on the right track, with things in their proper order.  It’s more than not waking up on the wrong side.  It’s taking that moment in time to put Jesus in my focus.  It’s that moment, to not rush, but to breathe.  To not tackle the to-do list until I’ve been empowered by the Holy Spirit.

First things first.  Lining things up.

So that by the end of the day, I can end as I started–with Jesus.  With peace.  With a heart full of gratitude.

Dear Lord, draw me into Your presence.  I need to start my day, my week with You.  If You do not go with me, I dare not go.  Show me what really needs to be done and put a rein on my frantic and harried plans.  Whisper to me what needs to be said and put Your gentle hand over my mouth before I say something I regret.  Empower me with your Grace, Wisdom, Gentleness, Peace.  Help me to line things up, to put things in their proper order.  Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Georgina permalink
    October 21, 2013 6:13 pm

    I was thinking of this today! Mondays are good reminders to put first things first. I fail a lot :/

Leave a Reply

