Skip to content

Prayer for the Week Oct 14 – Praying for Your Spouse

October 14, 2013

A few weeks ago I came across a beautiful little blog that I just had to share with you!  I had been looking for hope chest party ideas for my daughter when I found Hope Chest Wives.  Although I didn’t find what I “thought” I was looking for, Holy Spirit sent me a gentle reminder of the importance of praying for my husband and our marriage.  Don’t you just love it when God does that!

It is our pleasure to introduce to you Natalie Bennett and Michaela Fox the founders of Hope Chest Wives.  It’s so awesome to see these young wives sharing their hearts and stories for the glory of God! Take a moment to read this encouraging post on how to pray for your husband and don’t forget husbands these same scriptures apply to your wives!  Pray for your marriages this week.  Join in the battle and stay the course of fighting for your marriages by praying the Word of God.

 
I did everything right. Or so I thought. 
My knees hit the floor, my head bowed – from willing it to or from exhaustion, I didn’t know – and my hands came together in a desperate clasp. My eyes closed both out of habit as well from an effort to keep the tears at bay. I opened my lips to speak…and the words never came. 

I struggled to come up with something but my mind just kept replaying the scenes from earlier. In my ears still rang the words spoken from both sides. Frustration, confusion, and pain whirled in heart, making it impossible to see past them let alone formulate the entities into words. Once again, I tried to pray over my marriage, and once again, I didn’t know how. 

Praying for my husband and I comes easily when everything sails smoothly, which most days, it does. I simply pray things continue as they are; that God draws us nearer to each other, nearer to Him, and grows our love. When we find ourselves in the middle of a disagreement however, the words feel empty. Often closeness with my husband I desire the least when my heart hurts – or when shame tells me his heart hurts because of me

Yet when the words refuse to surface or the pain, dissipate, I find hope in this truth: 

Over two thousand years ago, while the clock ticked down to His gruesome torture and death, Jesus Christ knelt, bowed His own head, clasped His own hands, and prayed…for me.

Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth…I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me…I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me. – John 17:18, 20-23

When strength failed Him, Jesus still found the words to pray.

What if you can’t find the words, though? Well, pick up your Bible and rest assured – there you hold your prayer.
 All Scripture is breathed out by God… – 2 Timothy 3:16

Praying scripture proves highly effective when you don’t know how or what to say to God – especially concerning your marriage. When you pray scripture, you communicate to God in His own language. You acknowledge, accept, and desire His exact will for your life. 

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.           – Hebrews 4:12

When you pray scripture, you pray a live, intuitive weapon. It convicts your heart and your husband’s heart, whether or not you pray it with him present. When you pray scripture, it is like pouring medicine on an open wound versus binding it up – it penetrates every nook and cranny over which you pray, cleansing and healing it. 
So as I knelt, I decided instead to seek God’s living Word, and He led me to seven scriptures I’ve listed for you below (you can find these scriptures written out in prayer-format in the attached PDF). 
  • Romans 6:14
  • Romans 8:31
  • Romans 12:16
  • Ephesians 4:31-32
  • Philippians 1:9
  • Philippians 2:3-4
  • Colossians 3:12-14
Jesus says in Mark 11:24, “all things for which you pray and ask, believe that you have received them, and they will be granted you.” In order to bolster my confidence and faith, I often end my prayers with Ephesians 3:20-21:
Now to Him Who is able to do far more abundantly than all we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus forever and ever. Amen.
Christ also gave us the gift of praying in His name. He said, “Whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask Me anything in My name, I will do it. (John 14:13-14)”

As you pray scripture out loud, you can either pray it word-for-word directly as a reminder to yourself, or you can change the wording to become more personal. Here I gave you the Scripture directly, but you can also download the attached printable with all these scriptures combined in personal prayer-format. 

Just writing to you ladies blessed me immensely today. I hope all of these alive, active, soul-searching and soul-piercing verses speak to you as you seek God’s hand in your marriage. Whether in good times or bad, choose always to give your husband the best gift you can give him: intercession with scripture before your Father in Heaven. 
My heart and prayers are with you!
 
 
Michaela Fox is a wife, mother and follower of Jesus who lives in North Western Washington
 
 

Hope Chest Wives was started by two young wives, Natalie Bennett and Michaela Fox, who obeyed the call on their heart to minister to women in their own walk of life. This blog exists to provide young wives (and brides in training) with the specific goal of enhancing marriage relationships. Our vision is to equip these women the tools to experience a fulfilling marriage and walk with the Lord. We give biblical insights, share recipies, provide support for the hurting and grow with each other as we learn more about what the Lord wants to see in our home and family- all the while adding to our “Hope Chest” with plans for the future of our marriage and family.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Georgina permalink
    October 15, 2013 8:28 am

    Wow. What a testimony. I am convicted. Now what am I going to do about it? Pray the Bible! Forwarding this to a special bride-in-training I know 🙂 Thank you Provision Room.

Leave a Reply

