Skip to content

Prayer for week of October 6–A Mother’s Love

October 7, 2013
by

My husband and I gathered up our eight children, put all ten of us in our 11 seat Suburban, hooked up a travel trailer and drove across country.  Shortly after embarking I had an overwhelming gush of gratefulness and happiness.  I had all my family together–in a tight space.  We were all together.  Talking, eating, sleeping.  No one could escape.  We were forced to be in each other’s faces all the time.  And I loved it.  I was in my happy place.

I love being with my husband and children.  Sometimes life takes us all in different directions, though.  This kid is at that lesson, Daddy is at work, I am working on the computer, other kids are outside in the backyard.  There are errands to run and chores to do and daily we divide and conquer!  We come together for meal times and prayer times and a dozen other times, of course.  But more often than I would like those moments are rushed and then we are all back to our own busyness.

While I was thinking of this, in the car on the highway, I thought of how my mother is always trying to get all her kids and grandkids to come home at the same time.  It’s seems like the goal of her life is to have us all in the same happy place at the same happy time.  All of a sudden I understood.

And then I thought of those mothers I know who have children in heaven and how their hearts must yearn and yearn.  Hope deferred making her heart sick.  No amount of planning will get all her kids to the same happy place at the same happy time, this side of getting to heaven herself.  And all of a sudden I understood.

Without much effort I imagined a few years (and they are flying by) down the road when my children start leaving home more and more frequently until the day they are gone for good and establishing homes of their own.  It made me melancholy to even think of it.  I wanted to grab all my kids in a huge embrace, hold them tight, protect and shield them, and always have them in my presence.

And all of a sudden I understood.

“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem…how often I have wanted to gather your children together as a hen protects her chicks beneath her wings, but you wouldn’t let me.”  Luke 13:34

God loves me like a mother.  He wants me to be with Him, all the time.  He doesn’t get tired of me.  When I reject Him and run off after a thousand different things, He misses me.  His heart desires me.  Like I desire my children.

I am God’s happy place.

“Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child? Can she feel no love for the child she has borne? But even if that were possible, I would not forget you! See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands. Always in my mind is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins.  Isaiah 49:15-16

My prayer this week is that just as I live in the reality of my motherhood, I would likewise live in the reality of God’s Motherhood.  As I mother my children, may I let the Lord mother me.  As I pull my babies close, cradle them in my arms and bounce them on my knees, may I have just that sort of intimacy with the Lord.  Just as I desire to give my children a home of peace and love, may I see and accept that peace and love from God, too.

IMG_0001

“For thus saith the Lord: Behold, I will extend peace to her like a river. and the glory of the Gentiles like a flowing stream. Then you shall feed. On her sides shall you be carried, and dandled on her knees, as one whom his mother comforts, so I will comfort you.” Isaiah 66:12-13

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

