Skip to content

10 Day Give: DAY SEVEN

October 7, 2013

I can hardly believe we’re already on DAY SEVEN of our 10 Day Give!!  We just love giving lovely things to you our dear readers!!

Yesterday’s Winner…  CONGRATULATIONS Heather on winning a copy of our homeschool movie critique curriculum!!

For today’s give, I’m sharing something special from my own herbal medicine cabinet.  My youngest daughter, from the time she entered kindergarten until this summer, has suffered with a heat rash that appeared on her chest and throat every time the weather turned warm.  Each year the rash got worse and spread until at the beginning of this summer it actually wrapped around to the back of her neck.  It hurt and itched constantly.  Despite using OTC anti-itch creams nothing seemed to make it any better.

IMG_6477In desperation to make her comfortable, I decided to make my own cream.  Nothing else had worked so I thought I would try to make a cream using ingredients that I have grown to trust.  Three simple ingredients is all I used.  Coconut oil and Shea butter for their many documented healing properties for skin issues like eczema and psoriasis and my go-to favorite essential oil, lavender.  Not only did it make her more comfortable, her skin healed completely.  The rash after just a few applications COMPLETELY went away and it has not come back!

We’re going to give away one jar of this little cream to one of you!!  All you have to do is leave us a comment about your favorite herbal remedy.  Share some of your homegrown knowledge with us!

Disclaimer – The herbal information on this web site is intended for educational purposes only. It is not the intention of the writers to advise on health care. Please see a medical professional about any health concerns you have.  Disclaimer – These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA.  The information on this web site is not intended to prevent, diagnose, treat, or cure any disease.

[This giveaway is now closed.]

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    October 7, 2013 9:03 am

    Favorite herbal remedy: eucalyptus oil in a hot shower or pot of hot water. Honey, lemon tea is also a favorite. And netti pots of course!

  2. Jennifer permalink
    October 7, 2013 9:05 am

    I guess I would have say that my favorite remedy is simply chamomile. I have made tinctures with it for teething babies and to help settle us for sleep and I used it as an eye rinse for pink eye. It has wonderful other great uses as well.

  3. Mama permalink
    October 7, 2013 9:34 am

    Woohoo! Coconut oil for dry baby skin, ESP on their hands, which constantly go in their mouths…

  4. Jennifer permalink
    October 29, 2013 7:16 am

    I just now seen the reminder email! I went my address!

Leave a Reply

