Skip to content

Answering Your Questions: Our Vaccination Journey

July 19, 2013

Question asked via FB:  I want to ask you for more information about immunizations…

Answer: Now there’s a can of worms.  I think the issue of vaccinations vs. no-vaccinations is one of the most divisive among parents of young children.  However, for you, our dear readers, we are willing to go there!  🙂 We only ask that you be civil in your discourse on the subject and TRY not to judge one another.  We are all on a journey. 

Our Vaccination Journey

When we had our first child we were about to move from California to Mongolia.  So, naturally, we saw the doctor and got advice as to what shots were recommended for traveling.  Turns out none are required, but quite a few recommended.  Truth be told, I felt uneasy about vaccinations.  I’d heard just enough to make me think that I needed to do more research.  Unfortunately, I didn’t.  Our daughter, therefore, was fully vaccinated before we left the country.  Of particular concern to our pediatrician was that she had the Hep B vaccine, as well as a special Hep A vaccine.  Because, apparently we were headed to the very end of the world.

About a month or two later, settled into our home in the capital city of Mongolia, our daughter had full-blown measles, which she had been vaccinated against.  After she recovered from that she had ear-infections and frequent colds.  When she was a year old we were back in the States for a visit went to the doctor for more vaccinations and a check-up.  Shortly after our daughter spiked a high fever that sent her into convulsions.  The pediatrician on call said to give her five times the recommended dose of Tylenol in order to bring her fever down fast.  I refused to do so, fearing liver damage from that dosage!  She threatened to send the police to our home. Instead I gave her some herbs, hydrated her like crazy and let her sleep it off.  She also got some chiropractic adjustments.  All was well without the Tylenol.

When our second child was born I wasn’t feeling good about vaccinations.  But, again there was that fear of traveling outside America without being vaccinated.  (’cause we all know that everyplace outside of America is rife with plague, right?)  So, we vaccinated our second child, refusing a few that I thought were ridiculous, including chicken pox.  When in the States for a short visit we caught him up on a few he lacked, including the DTap.  He was about a year old.  A few days later he was sitting in the high chair and I was cooking.  I handed him some vegetables to play with and eat.  He took one bite of eggplant and had an anaphylactic type reaction.  He broke out in welts all over.  He could hardly breathe, gasping for every breath.  He was crying and so upset.  I was home alone in my apartment and scared.  Thankfully someone had just given me a homeopathic kit.  God led me to Apis Mellifica and he calmed down almost immediately.  From that day on he could not eat any nightshade vegetables (potatoes, peppers, tomatoes and eggplant) without breaking out in an extreme rash and having difficulty breathing.  As he learned to speak he would tell us how much his throat itched and how he felt like he could not breathe when he ate certain foods.

You’d think we would have connected all the dots.  We did not.  When our third child was born, in Mongolia, I didn’t take him to the doctor.  He was happy and healthy.  When we came to the States for a visit when he was 8 months old, we all got physicals from the doctor.  I had done a little more research at this point and I refused almost all vaccinations.  Except a few that the pediatrician insisted were needed if we were going to Asia–land of epidemics and poor medicine, according to her.  Much to my shame, I was easily bullied.  He got two shots, including the DTap.  Within a few weeks he started to develop the same skin conditions that his older brother had.  If I ate nightshades or if he came in contact with them there was hell to pay.  He’d scratch himself in his sleep until his skin bled.

I asked the pediatrician if there could be any connection to vaccines.  “Of course not!” I was told.  She said likely that this allergy just ran in the family and probably all our children would have it.  Oh sure, they’d outgrow it in time, most likely.  Just give them five or six years.  In the meantime, here’s a prescription for hydro-cortisone cream.

Easter Sunday

That was the straw.  I started researching.  I eliminated all possible allergens from our diet until I had pinpointed the culprits.  The rashes cleared up.  Still fearful, we always traveled with Apis Mellifica and Benedryl.  And we never got another vaccine for any of our children.  Guess what?  None of the other children have any kind of allergy–food, pollen, animals, etc.  None.  None have ever spiked crazy fevers that sent them into convulsions.  None have ever required homeopathics or drugs to keep them breathing.

Our story has a happy ending, thank you, Jesus!  At a healing service at our church God completely healed our sons of food allergies when our third child was 3 years old.  Since then we have been able to eat everything and never have a concern.

This is my personal story of how we came to the place of non-vaccinating.  You may say this is only anecdotal and it’s not been confirmed by a doctor and all that.  That is true.  Our doctor would not confirm this story and would still say that all these things are unconnected.  But, for our family it is as real as can be.  We left the vaccine path and have never looked back.

Of course, as a good parent you’ll be wanting more than just the story of my three kids.  So, here are some links to get you started:

The Ineffectiveness of Vaccines

Some vaccines are derived from aborted fetal cells

Alternatives to Vaccines

Aluminum in vaccines could be more dangerous than Mercury

Side Effects of Vaccines

We suggest you do your own research.  That you pray and talk with your spouse.  That you find yourself on a path that is right for your family.  In no way are we playing doctor, nor telling anyone what to do.  What we are saying is: educate yourself!  Know your stuff.  Be confident of the path you’ve chosen.  And don’t be afraid to ask the tough questions of your doctor, the medical establishment and yourselves.

Disclaimer – The health information on this web site is intended for educational purposes only. It is not the intention of the writers to advise on health care. Please see a medical professional about any health concerns you have.  Disclaimer – These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA.  The information on this web site is not intended to prevent, diagnose, treat, or cure any disease.

(Linked to Creative HomeAcre Hop, Allergy Free WednesdayEco Kids, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, A Little R & RSmall Footprint Friday, and Hope In Every Season)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. millennialhomemaker permalink
    July 19, 2013 12:44 pm

    I hear you in these words. I wasn’t aware of the dangers if the vaccines, even though I was given some literature on each vaccine when the Doc administered the shots. It wasn’t until my 4th child developed a nasty reaction to the MMR shot on her 1st birthday that awakened me to the potential dangerous reactions. So now I have to sign a waiver for her if we go anywhere that requires updated records. If I could do it all over again I would have declined them. The medical community can be pushy because they get kick backs from the government when they meet the quotas. It’s all a numbers game, in the name of Health prevention. I am a public health graduate so I understand both sides. I would error on the side of caution and do research before any needle is inserted into your precious child’s body.

  2. Arlin permalink
    July 19, 2013 5:15 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. Very good.

  3. Claire in CA, USA permalink
    July 20, 2013 12:17 pm

    I did not know all this about your kids! I, too, got bullied into vaccinating my first, but I stopped when she was about four months old after doing some research. My son has only ever had a tetanus vaccine after an accident in the snow when he was about 13. My oldest has health problems galore, but son has none. There is no way to confirm if vaccines have caused her problems, but a mama’s gotta wonder…

  4. deetocci permalink
    August 2, 2013 11:44 am

    Vaccinations are not dangerous. They save countless children from death due to preventable illness. I respectfully disagree with the information you are disseminating.

  5. August 3, 2013 6:35 am

    GREAT post

Trackbacks

  1. Taboo Topics Roundup | How We FlourishHow We Flourish

Leave a Reply

