Skip to content

Prayer for the Week June 17 – Prayer

June 17, 2013
tags:

“Then I think about the power of prayer—of what we do or don’t believe about it.  If we truly believe that prayers can influence the outcome of lives, then where is our faith in season and out of season?  Where is mine?  I’m the kind of woman that really would snatch a child from abusive arms and worry about the consequences later.  But am I the kind of woman that can offer up a heartfelt prayer and believe that help is on the way?  That it will be speedy and mighty in its deliverance?  Believing this way seems so much more challenging to me than taking immediate and physical action.”  River Jordan, Praying For Strangers–An Adventure of the Human Spirit (emphasis added)

“But am I the kind of woman that can offer up a heartfelt prayer and believe that help is on the way?  That it will be speedy and mighty in its deliverance?”

I stopped in my tracks.  I thought, “am I that kind of woman?”  Some days yes, but still there have been many times in very honest moments I would have to answer no.  What?!  I am a woman of faith!  How can I possibly have let doubt sneak in?  Doubt is so crafty and not in the glitter and gluestick way!  Doubt rolls in like fog, slowly rolling and billowing around us until we are consumed by it and can’t see our way out.  That’s when we lose faith and think it must be time to handle the situation ourselves.  God must be busy or something…

You know those situations, the long-term illness of a loved one, the child that has gone astray, unemployment, broken relationships.  You get down into the trenches of one of theses issues and your going to have doubt.  You’re going to question, “is help really on the way?”  How long will the suffering last?  I can fix this in my own strength.

Beloved the Word declares,”…call upon me in the day of trouble:  I will deliver you and you will honor me.” (Psalm 50:15, emphasis added)

Artwork by Anna Evans

Artwork by Anna, age 11

JEHOVAH-ROHI, The Lord is my Shepherd.  The Lord protects, provides, directs, leads, and cares for His people.  God tenderly takes care of us as a strong and patient shepherd.  This is our Father.  The One who promises to hear us, to see us, to protect us, to comfort us, and to save us!  I have no doubt about who this God is and if I know who He is, I can only trust that His help is on the way.  Therein lies the key.  We have to know who God is and we have to believe Him.  The situation may look grim and it may have looked that way for a long time, but the situation doesn’t change God.

I don’t know what you are going through this morning, but I do know that the Lord’s mighty hand of deliverance is on your side.  Do not let your faith be weakened by doubt created by human eyes.  Look up Dear One and see your Deliverer.  Believe.

Father,

Strengthen our hearts today.

For the ones who ask themselves the question, “do I believe help is on the way?” and honestly answer no, I ask you Lord to touch them.  I pray your Holy Spirit would surround them right now and release your peace over them.  I pray you would pour over them the oil of gladness and give them a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.  Your Hand is quick and mighty to save.

In the Name of Jesus, Amen.

(Linked to Mostly Homemade MondayA Little R&RRock-N-Share and Hope In Every Season)

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2013 12:02 am

    Amen! What an encouraging article! Thank you for sharing this. It is very thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

