Skip to content

Prayer for Week of June 10 — Well Pleased

June 10, 2013
tags:
by

When He had been baptized, Jesus came up immediately from the water; and behold, the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting upon Him.  And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”  Matthew 3:16-17

When Christ was baptized by John the Baptist the Father spoke audibly from heaven, “This is my beloved Son in whom I am well pleased.”

I’ve always thought, “Well, of course. What is there not to be well pleased in in Jesus?!”

I’ve heard this passage at funerals and retirement parties.  It’s sort of the perfect thing to say at the end of a race, long journey, or faithful Christian service.  I’ve always thought that that would be a wonderful thing to hear at the end of my days when I stand before the Lord. One of those things that inspires me to run a good race.

But that is not the context of this verse. This was not something the Father spoke to Jesus on the cross, the Resurrection or the Ascension.  When the Father spoke this over the Son, Jesus had not yet performed any miracles (at least none that are recorded). He had not preached any public sermons. His official public ministry had not yet begun.  He hadn’t yet been led into the desert, tempted and come out victorious.  At this point He, according to the judgment of the world, was just a carpenter.  A regular guy who hadn’t done anything.

This speaks something very important: God’s approval is not based on my performance.

What sweet music to my ears is this!  God’s approval of Jesus came BEFORE the wilderness experience, which came before the public ministry, before the persecution and before the victory over death.

Reader, hear this: you may find yourself at various places on your spiritual journey.  You may be being tempted in the wilderness.  You may be in a season of radically using your gifts and feeling fulfilled.  You may be under intense persecution.  You may be coming to the end of your journey.  Remember this: God’s approval of you is based on the Father’s approval of Jesus.  You cannot earn it, yearn for it, or pray harder for it.  It is a gift. It is a grace.  You just have to receive it.

What you can pray for are ears that hear, eyes that see, and a heart open to understanding.

Lord, I want to live my life as an expression of gratefulness for Your acceptance and love.  I know I cannot earn it.  I want only to receive it and then live from it.  So, give me ears tuned to Your voice.  Give me eyes that see what You see.  Give me a heart open and free and enraptured with You.  Amen.

(Linked to Titus 2 TuesdayHope In Every Season,  Rock N’ ShareMarriage MondayHomemaking Party and Making Your Home Sing)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2013 9:33 am

    Amen!

  2. June 13, 2013 4:54 am

    so true! thanks for sharing and for linking up for marriage monday! 😉

  3. June 16, 2013 9:28 pm

    Amen, my friend! So true. It is grace and we CAN’T earn it and we don’t deserve it. It’s a free gift. But there’s freedom in knowing that it’s not based on what we do, isn’t there!

    Thanks so much for linking up to the “Making Your Home Sing Monday” linky party today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

