Skip to content

Prayer for the Week of May 27th–Worse Than Dung?

May 27, 2013
tags:
by

My 19 month old pooped in the potty twice today.  If you have not potty trained a little boy, you may not quite grasp our excitement around here.  Chants of “Poopy in the potty!” can be heard ringing from the ceilings.

The Lord teaches me lessons from odd things sometimes.  Including poo.

Several years ago our family spent the summer in the countryside of Mongolia, which is where my husband is from.  One day I found my just-over-a-year old sitting happily in the fertilizer. It was dry (mostly), but still…ew!
Sitting in the dung
The Lord said, “There are worse things than dung.” Oh really, Lord? Dung seems to be fairly disgusting. What could be worse?
“Salt is good; but if the salt has lost its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is neither fit for the land nor for the dunghill, but men throw it out. He who has ears to hear, let him hear!” Luke 14:34-35
It would seem from this that being unsalty is worse than dung. If salt still has even a little flavor it can still be used in the dunghill. But when salt has lost all its effectiveness, you cannot even throw it on a dunghill.

I guess being useless is worse than being stinky.

Being ineffective is worse than being wasteful.

There are things worse than dung

Sometimes in the Church we see people that are….um…stinky. By that I mean that they are not a great witness or a great representative of our faith. I’ll be honest, some Christians are annoying. Sometimes in trying to exercise their gifts they are odd, other-worldly, or just seem to be wasting their gifts on the wrong ventures. They may even fall into poo….er….I mean sin. And as fellow Christians we are tempted to write them off altogether or to distance ourselves and act as if we don’t know them.

But the Bible says that there is something worse than being poopy. Being completely ineffective in this world is worse. Being without influence, without spunk, without saltiness is worse.

It seems to me to be a far worse thing to sit still–afraid to fail, than to take a leap a faith and risk the chance of getting some dung on me.

Risk is better than playing it safe.

God can use a poopy Christian. He can’t use a bland one.

Lord, give me courage to live a radical Christian life.  May I never be afraid to take the steps of faith You are asking of me.  May I take risks, storm castles, speak up for the speechless, and live each day true to You and my calling.  Save me, Lord, from being ineffective, spunk-less, timid.  In my own little sphere may I truly glorify You and always be fit for Your service–even if it’s the dung heap!  Amen.

(Linked to Mostly Homemade MondaysYou’re Gonna Love It!, Titus 2 TuesdaysBackyard Farming Connection HopA Little R & RThankful Thursdays,  Wise Woman Link-Up and From The Farm)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2013 6:44 am

    Just yesterday I was reminded of 2 Timothy 1:7, “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.” God is Good!

  2. May 27, 2013 8:14 am

    I love how reflective you are about poop, and I agree with everything you have said. I especially love the last line. Very true, and something that we all need to remember. And…CONGRATULATIONS ON THE POTTY!

    • June 3, 2013 10:40 am

      We know you love a good poop analogy as much as we do! (We’ve been reading your blog, too!)

  3. May 28, 2013 6:58 am

    I LOVE this post. It made me smile while at the same time causing me to reflect on my own life as a Christian. Thanks so much for this reminder!

Leave a Reply

