Skip to content

April Menu Plans

April 3, 2013
by

Daja: I used to feel that menu planning was not for me.  It was too difficult.  I was too unorganized.  I was too free-spirited.  Our budget didn’t work a month at a time.  I needed more flexibility.  My excuses went on and on and on.

It’s now been over a year since I’ve made monthly meal planning a discipline.  I’m by no means saying everyone HAS TO do it our way.  Every family has to find what works for them.  But, I will say that it has made our lives so much easier!  To be able to look ahead and to have a plan makes a huge difference.  There is no more looking in the refrigerator and saying, “What in the world am I going to cook today?”  And no more running to the store because I want to make lasagna and am halfway through only to realize that I’m out eggs.  No more just throwing something together that lacks in creativity, love, or honor.  (Oh, Momma!  You know the day you ended up giving the whole family PB&J for dinner!  It happens to the best of us!)  With a family my size (in July there will be 10 of us) the more we can get things into a rhythm and the more we can simplifying the daily things, the happier we are all.  Frees us up to do other things.

Here is my meal plan for April.  You’ll notice that the first week is my Cooking Vacation!  This is the time we eat some of the meals we’ve been storing the freezer, so that our stored meals are in constant rotation and nothing gets wasted.  We track these stored meals on an inventory sheet that is on the front of the freezer.  During our cooking vacation we’ll eat the meals that have been stored the longest.  “First in; First out!”  Our little system makes for a nice week-long break every three months.  Gives the budget a break and gives Mom a little break from food prep.

The FREE DAYS on the menu are days that my kids will be at their grandparents house.  So, I’ve left those days free of a set plan, because I’ll probably cook up a little something special for my husband.  😉

IMG_6900[1]

IMG_0001

Kristina:  I am so excited for my Cooking Vacation!  I am really looking forward to the break from the kitchen and the break for my budget!  The meals for March were extra expensive because of Passover and Easter so the extra savings is quite welcome!

For this month I feel like we are going on an International journey with our food.  For whatever reason my interests/cravings take us everywhere!  Mexico, France, India, Greece, and Italy are all on the menu.  To make it extra exciting for us all I’ll try to find music for each of the culinary adventures we take this month.  I can hear the laughter around my table already!

Apr-13 Meal Plan(Linked to Encourage One Another Link-up!)

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    May 12, 2013 8:35 pm

    love these!! So inspiring and helpful.

Leave a Reply

