Skip to content

Prayer for the Week March 11 – Completing The Good Work

March 11, 2013
tags:

My husband and I had several heart-to-hearts over the last few days.  Our daughters are getting older and it’s so very important we stay on the same page for raising them.  Education and travel plans were our discussion points this time around.  I’m a planner by nature and it was exciting to hear Jordan’s encouragement of our education plans for our older daughter.  He had obviously been pondering some educational avenues as she approaches high school and it was a great relief to me to share the burden with him instead of trying to carry it myself.

As we had these conversations a strange thing happened to me.  I was confronted with the reality that we truly are raising our arrows to launch them.  My daughters will not always be with me.  Sure I hope they will want to live close enough to me that we will be able to continue to spend time together, but I have to be prepared for God to send them somewhere far away from me.  I have plans before they go. There is a finite amount of time between now and then.  My heart felt the first pangs of sadness that will inevitably come.  Yesterday I was faced with the reality that there isn’t enough time for me to do all the things I want to do with them before they are launched.  I wept.

I imagine there isn’t a parent around that launches their children and looks back and says with confidence, “I did everything I wanted to do with them.  I showed them all the places I wanted them to see.  I taught them everything I wanted them to know.”  I got up and walked away from the conversation for a moment.  I heard the Lord whisper into my heart, “…that he who has begun a good work in you will accomplish that…”  We earthly parents must face the reality of our own limitations, but our heavenly father is the exact opposite.  He has no limitations!!!  He promises to complete the good work.  I felt the Lord’s healing words over my heart.  I know that where I can only fail to do everything, He never fails.  He will complete the good work in my children.

The truth is, raising children is not a task we can do on our own.  We cannot possibly do it with our own plans and in our own strength.  We need God’s wisdom and guidance.  We need God, the Creator of these beautiful little people, these little souls that He has entrusted to us.  We cannot trust ourselves to accomplish everything, but we can trust him to guide us, enable us and equip us to do the things He wants done.  Our priority is to see them grow “in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man.”  Every other plan we have for them, although probably good, pales in comparison to what God has for them.

Holy Spirit also reminded me of this principle.

The glory of this present house will be greater than the glory of the former house,’ says the LORD Almighty. ‘And in this place I will grant peace,’ declares the LORD Almighty.  (Haggai 2:9)

God always saves the best for last!  Job 42:12 says, “The Lord blessed the latter part of Job’s life more than the first.”  When Jesus performed his first miracle and changed the water into wine, the master of the banquet said, “Everyone brings out the choice wine first and then the cheaper wine after the guests have had too much to drink; but you have saved the best till now.”

So let us not be discouraged!  “Therefore, since through God’s mercy we have this ministry, we do not lose heart.” (2 Corinthians 4:1)

As for other matters, brothers and sisters, we instructed you how to live in order to please God, as in fact you are living. Now we ask you and urge you in the Lord Jesus to do this more and more. (2 Thessalonians 4:1)

I’m excited to be raising these arrows.  I’m confident in God’s principle of saving the best for last.  I know that the remaining years the girls are here with us will be more amazing than they have been.  I know God doesn’t want me to worry or lament about launching them.  I know He doesn’t want me to focus on my own limited abilities and vision.  So again, I turn my eyes toward Jesus and trust in Him.

Father, we recognize that our plans always fall short of all that you have for us.  We take courage in knowing that you will complete the good work in our children.  You save the best for last, increasing our joy, our energy and our wisdom as we walk this journey of raising our children.  Help us to live our lives more and more pleasing to you.
In Jesus’ Name,
Amen

(Linked to Eco Kids and Wise Woman Link-Up)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2013 3:49 am

    Thank you for this beautiful reminder. God’s grace and God’s transformative power is beyond our abilities, and we need to trust our kids to Him! He is trustworthy by all means!

  2. March 19, 2013 9:24 am

    Beautiful post! And I pray He keeps your daughters in the same area as you when they someday have their own families… I live next door to my mama, so it is possible!

    Thanks for sharing with us at Eco-Kids Tuesday! Hope you join us again today! http://likemamalikedaughter.blogspot.com/2013/03/flip-trainer-review-at-eco-kids-tuesday.html

Leave a Reply

