Skip to content

March Meal Plans

March 5, 2013

KRISTINA: I can hardly believe we have been on this journey for one whole year!  Practice makes perfect and planning these menus seems to be easier.  Somehow it doesn’t take as long as it did a year ago.  It also helps that we can go back and look and what we were eating last year at this time and get some handy ideas for what to eat now!

I’m doing something a bit unusual for our menu.  I’m not planning anything specific for the first week of the month.  This isn’t my Mommy Cooking Vacation, it’s just some flexibility I want to build in for our spring break.  I want the girls to be able to choose fun meals and I know we’ll be out of the house more as we picnic, drive around, and probably do some skiing.  (I know, spring break and skiing???)  Things I have in mind for that week include; spelt and white bean salad, chicken salad pitas, Southwestern chicken and pasta, cheese & crackers, and an array of sandwiches.  Keeping meal ideas in mind will keep us from eating out and will help us stick to our budget.

The remaining weeks will be as usual where I will be doubling up on several meals for the freezer.

Here you go…

Mar-13 Meal Plan

DAJA:

So many special days this month!  Some feast days and some fasting days: St. Patrick’s Day, St. Joseph’s Feast Day, First Day of Spring (my mother always makes the same delicious Spring-Time Soup and a “Daffodil Cake.”  When I make it, it always tastes like Home.), Passover, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Easter!  Plus we have a birthday and anniversary thrown in there!  The menu practically wrote itself!  🙂

I have never been much good at menu planning–or any sort of planning for that matter.  It may appear that I am all organized, but in reality, my organization is more like herding cats.  BUT, it has now been a full year of being intentional about our meal plans, bulk ordering food, stocking the pantry and keeping inventories.  Truth be told, I was doubtful that I would be able to be faithful at it this long!  You know what has helped tremendously?  ACCOUNTABILITY!  The fact that Kristina and I keep each other on track with our goals makes all the difference.  If you’d like to see a little more organization and goal setting happening in your home, I’d really encourage you to find a friend on the same healthy journey and link-up!

As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.  Proverbs 27:17

Without further ado, here is my menu plan for March.  As always if you’d like any specific recipes from either of us, just ask!

IMG_0001(Linked to Wise Woman Link-UpTasty TraditionsFight Back Friday! and Menu Monday.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

