Skip to content

72-Hour Food Kits Revealed

February 20, 2013

We’ve done it!  We planned, purchased and now have properly stored our 72-hour food kits.  Remember these only include the food we would eat in the case of a major disaster.  These kits, neatly prepared in advance, will free us up and allow us to focus on helping our families and neighbors in need instead of trying to find food.

So how did they turn out?

As I mentioned in our challenge, Daja’s plan was to keep it simple and efficient.  She really had to take into consideration the storage she would need.  (Increased variety means increased storage requirements!)  This is what she came up with.

IMG_6727[1]

72 hours worth of food for a family of 10 including the dog.

IMG_6725[1]

Daja’s son managed to fit three days worth of food into one plastic bin! He’s like a tetris guru!!

For my family I decided I wanted a bit more variety.  I also put my food into individual zip-top bag meal kits before my daughter put everything into a plastic bin.  Here is what we ended up with.

IMG_5701

Three days worth of food for a family of four including food for the dog and the parrotlet.

IMG_5702

The meals are all neatly packaged in zip-top bags ready for storage.

IMG_5704

Everything fit nicely in our plastic bin. (Just don’t try to pick it up without help!)

There you have it!  Two slightly different approaches for storing meals in case of emergency.  Both Daja and I spent around $100 to put these kits together (obviously more than we usually spend on food, but we needed shelf-stable items that we couldn’t necessarily produce in our own kitchens. At least not yet!)  Also, you will note the bottles of water packaged in our kits.  Neither one of us like purchasing bottled water for all the impacts to the environment and the outrageous cost of bottled water.  At this time we don’t have water filtration systems at our homes but they are definitely on our to-do lists for the future.  Then we won’t need to purchase water for future kits.

A few things to remember.  First, when you’re purchasing food make sure to check the expiration dates!  Don’t make the mistake I did and think you are getting a GREAT deal on individually sized shelf-stable milk only to find that they expire five months after you put your kits together!  Urgh!!!  Secondly, make sure you write down your expiration dates.  You’ll want to use this food then replace it before it goes bad.  Third, it would be nice to have extra large zip-top bags on hand if you want to put the meals together individually.  I had to use two bags for a couple of meals.  (I marked them 1 of 2, and 2 of 2.)

So how are your 72-hour food kits coming along?  Don’t leave us hanging!  Send us your plans and don’t forget to send a picture!!

(Linked to Natural Living Link-Up!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. millennialhomemaker permalink
    February 20, 2013 8:48 pm

    I think its great to be prepared. I will be getting my emergency bins ready soon. I used red for the color and i have a folder for important copies to go with my bins. I will post pics soon. Blessings to you both!
    Jeanne in AZ

    • February 21, 2013 7:42 am

      That’s great Jeanne! I really like the idea of using a specific color to designate the emergency bins. We’ll look forward to seeing your pictures!

      • millennialhomemaker permalink
        June 3, 2013 11:03 am

        Hello Kristina!
        Well, I finally have some pictures to show you 🙂 I’m not sure how I can upload them here, though. Do you have a place I can send them to you? I’m looking forward to catching up on all the posts I have missed. I’m off (no more teaching) for the summer! 🙂 More time to play and read! 🙂

      • June 3, 2013 11:50 am

        You can share them to our Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/TheProvisionRoom?ref=hl We look forward to seeing what you’ve put together!

  2. millennialhomemaker permalink
    February 20, 2013 8:53 pm

    Great planning! I use red bins for my emergency boxes and a matching folder for important papers. I will post a pic soon. Thanks for sharing your ideas! Blessings to you!
    Jeanne in AZ

  3. Don permalink
    March 17, 2013 3:10 pm

    Congrats on having a food kit. I would love to also see the ‘cooking’ kit that goes with your food selection, and a menu would be nice to see how the items work together. Any chance of that?

    Bless you for sharing at least this much.

    • Don permalink
      March 22, 2013 8:22 am

      Thanks for the reply and the photos!
      Quite the stove, I’ve seen those at a local big box store. I use a Colemen propane two burner with an adapter hose for use on a 20 lb tank. The tank has the ‘tree’ (multiplort manifold) so the lantern can go on top for light to cook at night.

      Thanks again.

Trackbacks

  1. 72-Hour Kit Challenge | The Provision Room
  2. Answering Your Questions: Emergency Cooking Supplies | The Provision Room

Leave a Reply

