Skip to content

Answering Your Questions: Water on the Go

February 15, 2013

Q.  So I read through most of your posts on fast food. That is one thing I would love to change for our family. We don’t eat out often but drinks happen more often than I would like. Do you recommend keeping water bottles in the freezer? The bpa free ones?

A.  Boy do I understand what you are talking about!  Some how I’m never more parched than when I’m on the go and caught out away from home!  My girls are the same way, too!  In truth we have tried to train ourselves to each pack a water bottle whenever we leave the house.  The types of bottles we use include BPA free plastic bottles and glass bottles.  Mason jars work great, too!  In the summer you could definitely keep a few in the freezer.  Also, I was given a great little water bottle that is very similar in size to the the plastic bottles you buy.  I love it because it fits neatly in my purse so I have it with me most of the time.  I just refill it as needed.

The orange one on the right is my favorite bottle to keep in my purse.

The orange one on the right is my favorite bottle to keep in my purse.

If I’m packing drinks for a swim meet (my older daughter swims competitively) I try to give her drinks with a good mix of natural protein or drinks with electrolytes (potassium, calcium and sodium.)  We don’t drink typical sports drinks because of the high sodium and sugar, typically high-fructose corn syrup, found in them.  And don’t even get me started on the artificial colors!  I have found coconut water mixed with fresh lemon and/or lime juice with a little honey makes for a great sports drink.  For higher protein drinks we like mixing chia seeds into kombucha or a little fruit juice and water.  Chia seeds are just great nutritionally!  (I write about them more in depth in a post on resetting our nutrition.)

Smoothies are also great to take along if you make them up in advance.  (Of course this requires a little extra planning!)  Mix the smoothie up with chia seeds so that the texture will remain thick and smooth then store in the refrigerator until you are ready to head out, or make up the smoothies and store them in small mason jars in the freezer.  Instant frozen treat for after the game!

One last note, we never encourage keeping plastic water bottles in the trunk because of the phthalates that can leach into the water.  Bad stuff!

(Linked to Wildcrafting Wednesday and Fight Back Friday!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. christy permalink
    February 15, 2013 6:03 pm

    Thanks! I used to be really good about it but it took so long for everyone to get a bottle filled and out the door. Having some in backpacks or purses might something I could start doing.

  2. February 21, 2013 6:15 pm

    Thank you for linking up this week with Wildcrafting Wednesday!!!

Leave a Reply

