Skip to content

Prayer for the Week February 4th – Bless The Lord O My Soul

February 4, 2013

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.  For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations. (Psalm 100:4-5, KJV)

I am a worshiper of my God!  I was made to worship Him but without thankfulness I can not.  I easily can forget to be thankful.  When do I forget?  Honestly, all the time, unless I’m intentionally writing it down.

The Bible tells me in James 1:17, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”  God doesn’t change and he is always wanting to pour out his goodness on me.  I know this and yet I forget to be thankful.  Sure, I’m thankful for the big things, but what about the little things.  The little blessings God sends me just to tell me he loves me.  Unless my eyes are open and my spirit in tune with his, I won’t even notice them.

I know we’ve all been there, when we’re so in the “trenches” of life that we just forget to be thankful.  We’re just too tired and too worn down, or we’ve become a complaining-grumbler.  I’ll tell you it was not so long ago that description fit me perfectly.  I was not content.  I was not growing where God had planted me.  I was allowing the enemy to build wedges and as those foundations were laid I helped him build the walls brick by brick with my complaints.  I turned my focus inward and became self-centered.  I was actually teaming up with the enemy instead of fighting him.

But then, I felt the nudge of Holy Spirit.  I felt Him say, be thankful.

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessolonians 5:18)

It just so happened that I had recently purchased a book by Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts, A Dare To Live Fully Right Where You Are.  It was time to read it.  Oh goodness, did it challenge me!  Here was a woman who had lived through some mighty tough things, hurts that I couldn’t possibly understand and what brought her out was thankfulness.

So I began the journey of changing my self-centered complaints and grumbling to thanksgiving.  I had to intentionally start my own journal, list if you will, of all the things I was thankful for.  In the beginning it was hard, but over time it became easier.  I began to see the little things and be thankful for them.  It has changed me.

Am I always thankful?  Do I still write down all the goodness God gives me?  Sometimes, but I’ve slowed down again.  My Father in Heaven saw me slow before I became aware.  He always does, so he reminds me.  Gently, lovingly nudging me until I pick up my journal and my pen and write again.  This time he used the prayer post I wrote for you last week to awaken my spirit, but He wasn’t done.  At church yesterday we sang 10,000 Reasons by Matt Reddman, and I heard my Father challenge me again.

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great, and Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find

Can I find 10,000 reasons for my heart to sing thanksgiving to the Lord?  I know in my soul that there are even more than 10,000 reasons!  So I begin again.  I take up my pen and I write…

IMG_5629

Oh Father,
Thank you for your mercy, for your tender touch.  Without your goodness in me, I am lost.  Awaken my spirit to you that I can see your goodness in everyone and everything.  Help me to see the enemies schemes and combat them the power of a truly thankful heart.
In Jesus’ Name,
Amen

What are you thankful for today?  Don’t wait!  Write it down and watch as God changes your heart today!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    February 4, 2013 3:57 pm

    *tears flowing*

    I love this, Daja, and your words & the telling of your experiences has blessed me. Thank you so much!

    I do know that all throughout my adult life, I have always said that I feel closest to God… so so close to God… when I have nothing else but Him. When illness, disaster, troubles come… it seems that nothing matters anymore. The house payment, the uncut lawn, the overflowing laundry hamper, the dirty dishes, the telephone… all immediately go into the background & fade away, when I’m in pain of whatever kind… physical, emotional, psychological, spiritual. Then, when it becomes oh so apparent that the only One I have left is God, the closeness I feel to Him is “touching close”.

    Every time the cross… that utter blessing of that cross… goes away & things get better again, I always *always* miss it. I miss the cross I was carrying… because I miss the special closeness with God that only comes when my burden is heavy.

    Anyway…. thank you for this prayer to start off my week just right & all those who are reading your blog entry today.

    God bless you–Andrea
    XOXOXO

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Preparations! | The Provision Room

Leave a Reply

