Skip to content

Prayer for the Week January 28th – Overwhelming Thankfulness

January 28, 2013

IMG_0676

I am overwhelmed with thankfulness to the Lord.  In a place of awestruck wonder at His goodness.  My family is in a season of abundance where God is pouring out His blessings on us.  You see it wasn’t too long ago we were struggling through a season of strife.  Jordan’s job was taking over and wouldn’t relent and all of us were feeling the pressure.  And when you pour eight years of your life into something, sacrificing your time, energy, and even finances to accomplish the challenge, you’re battle worn.  It was a season of being emptied out.  Then last August the most amazing thing happened.  It worked!  Curiosity, the Mars rover landed successfully on Mars!  Jordan’s team had done it!  Since August we have been swept up in a tidal wave of God’s blessing!

Many mornings, especially in the last week I have woke up in the early hours of the morning with my heart singing praises and thanksgiving to the Lord.  I am so full.  I thank Him and I think, “This is good, Lord.  I don’t need any more.”  But there is more!  My Heavenly Father always has more!  More than I can dream or imagine.  My cup is full and yet He is pressing down and shaking it and letting the blessings run over.  (Luke 6:38)

This past weekend Jordan spoke at a high school in Santa Ynez and at a conservancy near Goleta.  We met so many interesting and wonderful people who simply opened themselves to us with graciousness and generosity that we will never be able to repay.  They gave of their time, shared their homes and fed us.  God used these people who we barely know to pour out His abundance on us.  It was so obviously God.

Undeniably, this new season we are in is pleasant and peaceful some would say easy, but the most important thing we can do is to not lose sight of where these blessings are coming from.  They are not from our own hand, they were not earned from our own work, they are simply out of God’s love for us and His goodness toward us.  We must remember!  This is why I have a very practical tool on hand, my gratitude journal.  I have been keeping one since 2008, but honestly I’m not good at writing in it consistently.  I start and stop.  But whenever the times seem dark, I go to it and I remember God’s goodness.  The Word of God declares in Deuteronomy 6:5-12,

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

10 When the Lord your God brings you into the land he swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, to give you—a land with large, flourishing cities you did not build, 11 houses filled with all kinds of good things you did not provide, wells you did not dig, and vineyards and olive groves you did not plant—then when you eat and are satisfied, 12 be careful that you do not forget the Lord, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.

If you haven’t started a gratitude journal, may I encourage you to do so.  It is a legacy to your children and your children’s children.  It will keep you from forgetting.

Dear Father,
I am so unworthy of your blessings and yet you sent your Son to die for me.  If that was not enough, you choose to pour out your blessings on me, even when you know I’m inclined to forget.  Please, Lord never let me forget your goodness!  Never let me take for granted the simple and beautiful ways you tell me you love me every day.  Whether in a season of abundance or season of lack, may my eyes be focused on you, the Creator of goodness.  You are a Good God!
In Jesus’ Name, I pray.
Amen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

