Skip to content

Prayer for week of January 21 — Standing, Still Standing

January 21, 2013
tags:
by

Wow, is today’s prayer post difficult to write.  I find it difficult to put into words all I am thinking and feeling and praying.  My spirit is praying, but to put those prayers in actual words on a page–well, that isn’t so easy.  Not today. And that’s unusual for me.  For when it comes to putting words on a page, that usually isn’t hard at all for me.  I always have something to say.  And I do have something to say today, but my spirit is saying it to God and my mind cannot even grasp all the nuances of it.

Does that make sense to anyone but me?

Do you ever feel that tugging, that intangible and yet so very real longing?  A longing for something you know better than anything and yet cannot name?  Do you ever feel homesick for a place that you are not sure you’ve ever been and yet you can smell it, taste it, almost see it?  You hear strains of its sounds drifting passed, but when you try to grab them, they evaporate?

I think I’m homesick today.  I’m a girl that isn’t yet home.  And so the mere shadowy reflections I see of it all around me are making me nostalgic, if not altogether sad.

Perhaps I should leave these ponderings to true philosophers and theologians.

“Creatures are not born for desires unless satisfaction for these desires exists. A baby feels hunger; well, there is such a thing as food. A duckling wants to swim; well, there is such a thing as water. Men feel sexual desire; well, there is such a thing as sex. If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world….” CS Lewis

In the meantime, I’m asking the Holy Spirit to pray through my spirit today.  I want to be the willing vessel that the Lord can use to accomplish His purposes in prayer.

“He,” the Spirit in you, “maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God,” and God searches your heart not to know what your conscious prayers are, but to find out what is the prayer of the Holy Spirit.  The Spirit of God needs the nature of the believer as a shrine in which to offer his intercession.  –Oswald Chambers in My Utmost For His Highest, November 8

If looking around your family, neighborhood, community, church, city, state, country or the world is making you sad today or if you feel that sense of, “I was made for more than this…” remember that no matter what the future holds, we know Who holds our future.  When my world or my faith come crashing down, I’ll be found in Jesus.  Still Standing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2013 12:19 pm

    It sounds like you’ve got yourself Covered, honey, but just in case a human hug will help… and a measly cyber one at that… here it is…. from my heart to yours!!

    ((((((((((((Daja & sweet baby))))))))))))))

    Love you–Andrea
    XOXOXO

  2. Claire permalink
    January 21, 2013 1:03 pm

    Oh, how I can relate, and how I pray for that day to come soon!

  3. Georgina permalink
    January 21, 2013 5:02 pm

    It is a great youtube video ❤ love bella<3

Leave a Reply

