Skip to content

January Menu Plans

January 9, 2013
by

Happy New Year!

Daja and I decided for this year we would combine our two monthly menu posts.  You’ll get the same menus we’ve been giving you in a single post instead of two.  We decided to do this for a couple of reasons.  1) Because we will post the menus together, the post will hopefully be more timely.  (Less of our excuses as to why we are late telling you our plans.)  2) It will cut back on the number of posts you get from us at the beginning of the month.  Let us know how you like this new system.

Here’s what Daja’s family is eating this month!  A couple things to note:

1. As the tag-line of this blog says, “Always Prepared For Life’s Happenings”: Life has happened.  Literally.  I am now 11 weeks along.  We are excited and blessed to be expecting our eighth baby!  The kids are simply over-the-moon (they have been asking God to give us another baby for the past six months or so!) and are taking such tender care of me, it makes me warm all over!

The first trimester has tampered with my mojo in several key ways.  First of all, I’m tired.  SO TIRED.  This is to be expected and quite normal for me during pregnancy, especially because I’m still nursing a very hungry 15 month old!  Secondly, I have (temporarily) lost all interest in cooking.  I usually adore being in the kitchen.  I love experimenting and creating.  I love the whole experience of the sights and smells and presentation of food.  Oh, food is so romantic.  But these days…..it’s seriously tempting to order pizza.  Every night.  Or to just make some PB&J and call it good.

BUT I DON’T!  This is where these menu plans have seriously saved me!  And my budget!  And my health!  I know exactly what I am supposed to be doing.  I don’t have to fumble around wondering what I feel like eating.  I just make what’s on the list.  Done.  I know this testy season will be over soon.  For now, this monthly meal planning has been a lifeline!

2. The second thing to note is that we have taken our quarterly cooking vacation!!!!    Notice that I only took four days in January.  Because, well, I got tired towards the end of December and used up a few of those frozen meals a week or so early.  🙂  But that’s what those meals are there for, right?  LIFE HAPPENINGS!

For those that are new to this plan, four times a year, we take a week to eat from our frozen meals, beginning with the meals that have been in there the longest.  This keeps the freezer always fresh, gives us a little breather to enjoy the fruits of our labors, and the budget a week to compensate for any extra output we have done.  Then we pick right back up where we left off doubling meals twice a week to stock the freezer.  In this way we don’t increase our food budgets, but increase our storehouses!

3. The third thing I’d like to point out is that for one full week (13-19) we are eating vegetarian dinners.  We’ll still be drinking our bone broth, so haven’t gone completely vegetarian.  But, we are calling that our nutritional reset week.  Lots of whole grains, veggies, and fermented foods.  Just a week to lighten the load a bit.  We all need a bit of that after the holiday partying, eh?

IMG

Here’s what Kristina’s family is eating with a few notes.

First of all you will see I am not taking my “cooking vacation” this month.  Back in November I got very sick for a week.  As we like to say around here, “life happened.”  Having my freezer and pantry stocked was such a blessing!  While I was in bed I simply told the girls or Jordan what to go get from our provisions.  No one went hungry and no one had to eat out.  Everyone was happy!  So instead of taking a break this month I’m continuing to double a dinner meal twice per week to replace what we used.

Secondly, I have scheduled a few extra Free Nights.  Our anniversary and my birthday is this month so I want to give my family the flexibility of going out with family or friends, or allowing Jordan and the girls to bless me with one of their deliciously creative dinners.

Lastly, I’ve really bumped up our greens and protein intake and decreased sugar and wheat.  As Daja mentioned we had such a lovely time celebrating the holidays, but it’s time to reset and rebalance our digestive systems.

Jan-13 Meal Plan

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2013 4:24 pm

    I’m sorry but am I missing the recipes here somewhere or are they not posted? Thank you~ Andrea

    • January 9, 2013 4:34 pm

      Hi Andrea! We don’t typically post all the recipes for any given month, just the ones we think readers might be interested in. Let us know if there is something in particular you would like and we’ll get on it!

      • January 9, 2013 11:09 pm

        Thank you, Kristina! I looked through the link Daja gave & didn’t see your recipe for Mushroom & Barley Risotto with Baby Greens. It sounds delicious & I was wondering if the baby greens are on the side or in with the risotto? I would love to have your recipe either way. Thank you!! 🙂 ~Andrea xoxoxo

    • January 9, 2013 8:10 pm

      All the recipes specifically requested by our readers are posted here: http://theprovisionroom.com/category/recipes/

      ENJOY!

      • January 9, 2013 11:13 pm

        Daja, your Mongolian Beef & Rice sounds wonderful. I didn’t see that recipe at the link you provided. I would appreciate the recipe whenever you have the time & gumption to post it. That goes for both you gals… if I ever request a recipe from either one of you, it’s always done with the understanding that I am a patient old lady. Thank you!! ~Andrea xoxoxo (I always like to leave a smile but this character has a creepy sorta grin… I don’t believe I do. *lol* ——-> 🙂

  2. January 10, 2013 6:41 pm

    When I make it, I will write down the directions and take pictures. As with all Mongolian food, there is no recipe really–just a traditional way to prepare stuff passed down. I kind of like that, actually.

    I will create a recipe for you the next time I make it!

    • January 13, 2013 8:14 pm

      Thank you so much, Daja! Yes, I like that way of cooking too… and that’s the way I myself cook most of the time. So if you’d just care to explain it a little, that would be fine. I’m sure I’ll get the jest of it.

      It was cute because all my children (+ spouses & grands) came over for New Year’s Eve & my son-in-love Pete wanted to prepare some food so he brought the ingredients for some of the dishes & just needed to assemble & bake at my house. I gave him free reign of my kitchen, of course (gladly!! *ha-ha*), and after a few minutes he asked me where my measuring spoons were. Fallon piped up & said “You don’t have any, do you, Mom??” I was embarrassed and said “no”. Fallon just laughed… she knew.

      Thank you again.

      XOXOXO

  3. Andrea permalink
    January 21, 2013 5:57 pm

    It’s fun to know what you gals are eating tonight…. Kristina, you & your family are having sloppy joes & Daja, you & your family are having shrimp w/ serranos & grain medley. 🙂

    I don’t know what I’d call what we had but here’s the recipe in case either of you girls would like it:

    I cut up an onion and 2 pork steaks & sauted them both in my wok with a tbsp. of Earth Balance buttery spread (I am out of olive oil & regular butter). Then I added about half a lb of shelled fresh peas and some soy sauce & some organic vegetable broth. I put the lid on & let that bubble for about half an hour, to soften the meat a bit. Then I added 2 cut-up tomatoes, 8 oz of sliced fresh mini-bella mushrooms, and a cup & a half of brown rice. I sauted that a little bit more & then I added 2 more cups of the veg broth, a cup of water, & more soy sauce. I put the lid back on my wok & let the mixture cook up & the rice to get done. I noticed I had a little bit more liquid than I wanted, when the dish was done, so I sprinkled about a tsp of white flour over the top & stirred it in. That did the trick.

    Not real fancy but it tasted good. It’s only 11 degrees here… been that almost all day… and we have a wind chill advisory out starting at 8pm tonite til 11am tomorrow. The temp is supposed to get below zero with the wind chill even colder. A nice hot pork stew w/rice warmed us up tonight.

    Love & God bless–Andrea
    XOXOXO

  4. January 22, 2013 6:15 pm

    Sounds good!

    Stay warm!!!!!! Hope you don’t have to go out much these days, but can stay bundled up at home with a blanket and a good book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

