Skip to content

Tuna Casserole with Cheese Rolls

January 3, 2013
tags:
by

When you hear the words “Tuna Casserole” do you have visions of monochromatic glop, school cafeteria style?  Slimy noodles and some sort of milky-fishy substance.  Gross.  Who needs that?!

Had a mess of people over the other day–some crafty mommies all trying to get our children to make some meaningful Christmas gifts.  It was getting late and everyone was hungry, so I whipped up some tuna casserole.  I know everyone was a bit suspicious.  Maybe they could just stop at Taco Bell on the way home…..

But, surprise, surprise!  They loved it!  And we just got an email asking for the recipe.  So, we are happy to share our special tuna casserole recipe with you!  It’s a nice winter food, coming bubbling and cheesy out of the oven!

(For my large family, I double or sometimes even triple this!)

Photo submitted by one of our sweet readers, Georgina

Photo submitted by one of our sweet readers, Georgina.  She said it was a hit, even with her husband who used to say he only ate tuna cold with Miracle Whip.  🙂  Score one for real food!

CASSEROLE

3 Tablespoons butter

3 Tablespoons chopped onion

1 cup bell pepper, chopped

3 Tablespoons flour

1 2/3 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper to taste

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

10 oz. canned tuna

In a pan over medium-high heat, melt butter.  Saute onions and bell pepper until soft.  Add the flour and cook, stirring, until well blended and coated.  Slowly add the milk, stirring constantly until thickened.

Add the tuna, salt and pepper and stir until combine.  Add the lemon juice and give a gentle stir.

Pour everything into a buttered 9×13 baking dish.

Now make the cheese rolls.

CHEESE ROLLS

1 1/2 cups flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

pinch of pepper

1/2 teaspoon dill

2 Tablespoons butter

1/2 cup milk

3/4 cup shredded cheese (I  just use whatever I have on hand)

Stir together all the dry ingredients.  Cut the butter into the flour mixture until the mixture resembled coarse crumbs.

Add the milk and stir to form a soft dough.  Toss lightly on a floured board until smooth.  (Just until smooth.  Do not over handle it!)

Roll out into a 8×12 inch rectangle.

Top with cheese and roll it up as you would a jelly roll.  Cut into 1 inch slices and place on the tuna casserole ring up so you can see the pretty swirl.

Bake at 400F for 15 minutes or until rolls are fully cooked and golden.

(Linked to Tasty Traditions Blog Hop and Try A New Recipe Tuesday)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    January 3, 2013 2:22 pm

    Does it matter what kind of bell pepper?

  2. January 3, 2013 4:13 pm

    This sounds delicious ~ I’m going to have to try it once it cools down a bit here!
    Blessings
    Renata:)

  3. Georgina permalink
    January 3, 2013 4:35 pm

    Thank you for posting the recipe! Looks like others are as interested as I am. On the menu for this month 🙂

  4. January 3, 2013 10:04 pm

    Sounds familiar. 🙂

    • January 3, 2013 11:26 pm

      Yes, it’s been tweaked a time or two. But we first had cheese rolls on tuna as a recipe from Donna years ago!

  5. Alex permalink
    January 3, 2013 10:52 pm

    I was one of those crafting mommies… and I LOVED this! It was so delicious!!!

    I think I even ate the rest of my daughter’s portion?
    Maybe I just dreamed of a second helping that night? Yeah, it was THAT good.

    • January 3, 2013 11:41 pm

      I totally did not make enough! Next time I will make like three pans! 🙂

  6. January 5, 2013 7:47 pm

    Mmmm – this sounds delicious! Plus I love tuna and so does my family!

    I would love to have you share this on Thursdays at Tasty Traditions: http://myculturedpalate.com/ this sounds delicious. I love tuna

  7. March 11, 2013 5:13 pm

    This looks really good! You are so right. I read the title “Tuna Casserole” and those were the exact nasty memories I had. I will have to try your recipe! Thanks so much for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday.” I hope you will be able to join us again this week.

  8. igotthismartha permalink
    May 14, 2013 4:16 am

    I love tuna casserole, and the cheese rolls look soooo good!

Trackbacks

  1. Beyond Health and Beauty Products!

Leave a Reply

