Skip to content

Prayer for the Week Dec 10, Trust and Obey

December 10, 2012
tags:

This is a post I originally wrote for my Annyssa blog, but it’s value is as true today as it was when I wrote it three years ago.  Let me share with you this message on trusting and obeying the Lord.

There is a connection between obedience and trust.  If you trust the Lord you are supernaturally empowered by the Holy Spirit to be obedient to walk out whatever the Lord has asked you to do.  But our journey with the Lord is sometimes a picture of us running on a hamster wheel.  We get on the wheel, we begin to doubt what the Lord has told us and then we are not obedient.  When we are not obedient we are on the wrong path and none of the words we have heard about God, or from God, seem true and then we lose our trust in Him.  It’s a self-perpetuating cycle without trust you can’t be obedient and without obedience you can’t have trust.

In Deuteronomy 9:23 Moses makes the connection between trust and obedience.

“And when the Lord sent you out from Kadesh Barnea, he said, “Go up and take possession of the land I have given you.”  But you rebelled against the command of the Lord your God.  You did not trust him or obey him.”

So I ask myself a question.  What are the subtle ways in which I have turned away and not possessed the land, because of lack of trust and obedience?  The big mistakes are easy to spot, but I’m talking about the daily walk with God.  Each and every day is an opportunity to move forward into new land.  I don’t think the Lord intended for us to stay in one place.  Hebrews 12:1 says:

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

We are supposed to run the race set before us and not run on a hamster wheel!  We are supposed to be moving forward, but for most of us there are lots of hamster wheel distractions and somehow we end up getting on one of those things and we run our legs off, going no where.

But, here is our hope.  We have a God who loves us!  Who loved us enough to send his son to die for us (1John 4:10).  The word says in Romans 8:37-39,

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present not the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Wow!  That means, even when I get on the wheel, fully lacking in trust and obedience, I am still never separated from my Father who loves me.  And in that perfect love, I can turn toward my Father with my eyes on Jesus and once again get back on the path of journeying with Him.  I think each step I take should represent trust and obedience.  I might just put those words on little signs and put them on the tops of my shoes as reminders.  Because when I trust and obey I am victorious in overcoming the world!  (1 John 5:3-4)

Victory comes in a multitude of different ways whether it’s reading your Bible more, praying more, taking care of your body, by eating right or trying to stay more balanced in life.  God is faithful to show us where to take the next step and our job is to trust and obey.

Let’s pray today.

Father,

Thank you for never giving up on me when I’m stubborn and refuse to obey.  Thank you for never giving up on me when my faith is lacking and I don’t trust you.  Please help my faith to grow.  Help me to trust you more so that I can obey you more.  Your plans for me are so good.  Once again have your way in my life.

In Jesus’ Name.  Amen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

