Skip to content

Prayer Post For Week of November 19 – The Grace To Tell A Story

November 19, 2012

On Saturday I was busy, busy, busy with Fall Cleaning.  I was emptying out closets and packing stuff up to donate to charity.  I was digging in those long forgotten corners and stirring up dust and clutter.  In the middle of the chaos I sat down to nurse my one year old.  He looked up at me with his big brown eyes and gave me a little smile–while still nursing, mind you!  And I decided to tell him a story.  His story.

I told him about how I found out I was expecting him.  I told him how I kept it a secret until Valentine’s Day and then surprised his daddy with a special gift.  I told him about how we told his six siblings we were expecting him.  It told him about the prayers that were prayed for him and the prophesies that were spoken over him from the womb.  I shared with him the struggles I had while pregnant and about how his great grandpa and great grandma went to be with Jesus right before he was born.  Then I told him about how they must have been praying for him and I because I saw his great grandpa in my dreams.  I told him about how I went into labor with him and experienced the power of God as I worshiped through the contractions.  I told him about his birth and about how he was born into the loving hands of daddy.  He looked at me with his wide, wide eyes the whole time, listening intently.

“O God, You have taught me from my youth;

And to this day I declare Your wondrous works.

Now also when I am old and gray headed,

O God, do not forsake me,

Until I declare Your strength to this generation,

Your power to everyone who is to come.”  Psalm 71:17-18

God has done so many marvelous things throughout history and in our very lives.  Looking back at how we’ve been led, we can see the fingerprints of God all over our stories.  We have to tell these stories.  The next generation needs to hear of the healings, the miracles, the mighty wonders.

And, O! isn’t this a wonderful time of year to declare His wondrous works?!  What season could be better to declare His strength and power to everyone who is to come?!

This is a season of Thanksgiving, where family and friends gather together.  What a beautiful opportunity to tell of some of the things God has done.  It needn’t be formal or theologically grand.  You don’t need to be a great orator and the story doesn’t need to necessarily be mountains moving (although, there are certainly enough of those stories to keep us storytelling forever!).  Remember, it’s not who tells God’s stories the best, it’s who tells them the most!  Don’t let your children be ignorant of how God has led you, provided for you, loved you, wooed you, gently cared for you and yes, occasionally, how He has moved mountains for you.

Tell.

Tell.

Tell.

Abba, thank You!  You have been our hope in times past and are our hope for the future.  We look to You as that ever-loving and faithful Father who looks to give good gifts to Your children.  In these days of Thanksgiving, give us the grace to remember.  Remember and tell.  This generation needs to know and we need to share.  In telling our souls are shaped and our stories come into focus–into the perspective of heaven.  Thank You, Abba.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

