Skip to content

Carrot Souffle

November 15, 2012

I moved to Mongolia after I got married and had my first child.  She was only six weeks old when I made Mongolia my home.  It was September.  The Autumn and Winter holidays that followed were my first holidays ever outside my parents’ house.  I wanted to have Thanksgiving–real Thanksgiving.  But, there are not turkeys in Mongolia, unless they are imported for foreign business people and cost an arm and a leg.  Besides, my oven was about the size of a shoe box, so I couldn’t have roasted one anyway.

Sweet potatoes, yams and pumpkins were also not available.  Forget about lettuce or other greens!

I started to realize that creating an authentically American experience was not going to happen.  I made my peace with that, counted my blessings and bought a chicken.  I baked it with a honey glaze.  I called up a missionary who lived about four hours away and asked her what she did instead of pumpkin or yams.  I just felt that there must be something orange on the table!  She gave me the following recipe.

Several years later we were to celebrate the holidays back in America at my parents’ house.  Each family was supposed to bring something.  I got assigned the vegetable.  So, I said I was making carrot souffle.  Some members of my family gave me a look.  Maybe you know that look.  It says, “You can’t be serious.  Why do you always have to be so weird.”  Everyone was so skeptical.  And then the moment of truth.  They took a bite and said, “This is actually really good!!!”  And then they had seconds.  And thirds.

And since that day this souffle has found its way onto our table every Thanksgiving, Christmas and sometimes even at Easter.

Carrot Souffle
2 cups cooked carrots

1 cup sugar
1 cup milk
¼ teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
3 eggs
2 heaping tablespoon flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat carrots with mixer or in blender. Add all other ingredients and beat well.

Bake at 350F for 30 minutes or until set.

Sprinkle with chopped walnuts or pecans. Bake five minutes longer.

(Linked to Try A New Recipe Tuesday)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2012 12:25 pm

    Seriously good stuff. It’s almost like dessert.

  2. November 15, 2012 12:46 pm

    It really is….it’s on every holiday table around here….or it’s not complete. ALL of my Colorado friends think it’s tasty, too! 🙂

  3. Georgina permalink
    November 26, 2012 10:49 am

    I was a little skeptical about a carrot souffle, but I know Daja is a good cook and I am adventurous when it comes to food. I made this as directed because that’s how I am with first-time recipes, but I could not resist adding some nutmeg. I love nutmeg! This is an amazing way to serve carrots. Yes, I know it is more like dessert especially if you add a some whip cream as we did, but it’s still carrots. My family really liked it. Bella said she wanted to eat all of it. For those of you who cannot imagine what this tastes like, think bread pudding meets pumpkin pie 🙂 Don’t wait for Thanksgiving to make this recipe. Any special dinner deserves this as a side. And for those of you who don’t own a souffle dish, like me, Daja encouraged me to use a standard glass loaf pan. It worked just fine. Thank you Daja and Kristina for introducing me to The Provision Room.

  4. March 19, 2013 7:52 am

    This honestly looks amazing! I am definitely going to make this and bring it to my parents for Easter dinner. 🙂 Thanks so much for linking up with “Try New Recipe Tuesday.” I hope you will be able to join us again this week.

  5. May 24, 2013 7:48 pm

    Someday, I wil make this recipe for my kids.

    Cecilia

  6. June 8, 2013 12:12 pm

    I’ve never eaten such a souffle, but I think I’m going to try it this week,
    I KNOW I’m going to loooooooooooove it

    • Georgina permalink
      June 8, 2013 1:07 pm

      Yes, Winnie, I know you will….because I do 🙂 I took this to a party at which most people were reluctant to even taste it. But one of the dads liked it so much, he kept coming back for more and even ate it cold! My only trouble is that I do not like to bake in the summer 😦

  7. Sarah D permalink
    November 20, 2013 3:10 pm

    Looks yummy. =)

Trackbacks

  1. Answering Your Questions: How To Cook Vegetables So People Will Eat Them | The Provision Room
  2. Thanksgiving Preparations! | The Provision Room

Leave a Reply

