Skip to content

Daja’s November Meal Plans

November 2, 2012
by

I love the changes in seasons when we get to change up the menu!  Now that’s it’s Fall there are a lot more oven dishes and cheesy dishes and things that are warm and comforting.  Just the sort of thing one wants to have on a crisp Autumn Evening!  As always, if you want any recipes, just let us know!

Even breakfasts have been changing–less smoothies and more hot cereals.  And I’ve been loving things like pumpkin waffles and apple cider pancakes.  Mmmmm, mmmmm!

You know another favorite Autumn thing?  I keep apple cider in the crock pot with orange slices, cinnamon sticks, whole cardamon and cloves.  It’s so lovely to sip a spicy little cup when I come in from the garden or clothes line or when we come in from running errands.  Nothing beats that!

Happy Autumn everyone!  What are you eating in November????

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Gehringer permalink
    November 4, 2012 7:47 am

    Thank you for sharing your meal ideas!! Love it! Do you have a Tsoivan recipe? It is my most favorite Mongolian meal!! I found a recipe online, but it was hard to follow and didn’t turn out well…probably had nothing to do with the cook….ha!
    Thanks!!
    Heather

    • November 5, 2012 7:51 am

      Daja has a fabulous recipe for tsoivan! In fact my daughters just spend a few days with Daja and came home raving about the tsoivan and how I absolutely must get the recipe! So we will get Daja right on it and have her post the recipe ASAP.

      • Daja permalink*
        November 5, 2012 10:13 pm

        OK, OK, OK! LOL! When I make Tsoivan next week I will make some notes and take some pictures so I can get a recipe and tutorial together. I don’t make it by following a recipe because I learned simply by watching a friend (Heather, it was Ariunaa.) make it for me.

        So, it’s pretty authentic….which means there is no recipe. But, I’ll do one for you! 🙂

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    November 4, 2012 10:01 pm

    Well cold here so cooking is a way to warm up the house. Yesterday I made bread and garlic bread sticks and a kettle of split pea soup. So for breakfast we had toast, for lunch after church the soup with toasted cheese open face sandwich and dinner was cabbage-noodle-poppyseed dish with lemony beets. Husband returned from a 4 day trip this noon. I guess I did not make any desserts other than a large batch of MM cookies…I was gifted 3 bags of the regular.

    RE the MMs…I make a large bowl of snack mix that I serve in December in my church library,,,recipe comes from the church cookbook. I like to use the red and green Christmas MMs for that. So I dumped the 3 bags out into a big bowl and while watching a movie on my laptop, youngest daughter and I scooped and sorted MMs into red/green and yellow/orange/brown piles and blues. So I used the “Fall” colored MMs now to make the cookies for serving today and taking to work on Monday. The Christmas colored MMs will be saved until my Library open house starts in December. We are unsure about the blue…Laura suggested Hanukkah cookies.

    I am already planning the Thanksgiving get-together. It is one of the few times a year that I will cook meat. We will have turkey for the meat eaters and a lentil loaf for the non-meat eaters. All the sides will be vegetarian or vegan.

    We seldom eat cold food once the weather cools off, always soups or chili or pasta dishes. Even sandwiches will be heated or grilled. Lots of hot tea, lots of baked goods, bake bread, cookies , muffins , coffeecakes etc every few days. I do the cider-in-the-crockpot thing too, though I use allspice, cinnamon sticks and cloves stuck into orange slices. Never thought of cardamon…use that in pastry, so I do have some.

  3. November 6, 2012 9:07 am

    Ariunna and Lida are so amazing and I wish I would have paid more attention when they made Mongolian food for us. I can’t wait for your tutorial! Thank you, Daja!

Leave a Reply

