Skip to content

Prayer for Week of October 29 — Water of the Word

October 29, 2012
by

“…and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.”  I John 1:7

I know that my sins are forgiven.  I know that when I stand in assurance of Jesus’ blood and completed work that I stand before Him blameless.

Why then do I sometimes feel so….unclean?  

Do you know what I mean?  Sometimes just living in this world, some “stuff” can stick to ya.  Like soul static cling.  I’m just going about minding my own business when a billboard bombards my consciousness with a message of discontent.  Or I’m just doing something simple like washing the dishes or correcting a math paper when without my permission a bad attitude seems to smack me around!  Or I have to do something thoroughly unpleasant like mete out discipline to a child for an issue of character that makes me sad.  (and the devil gives a whisper of the word “failure.”)

I know that I’m in right standing with God.  And yet….I feel…far away.

“…Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word, that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish.”  Ephesians 5:25-27

Jesus’ blood does indeed cleanse us from all sin.  But, it is His Word that deals with our uncleanness.  By uncleanness I mean that stuff that sticks to us.  I mean that feeling you get at the end of the day that perhaps you could use a good cry.  Or that inkling you have that you should repent–but aren’t exactly sure for what.  You can’t put your finger on it, but there’s something there.  Yeah, that.

The washing of water by the Word.  I think of it like sitting under the shower–letting the water wash over me.  The water itself is soothing and relaxing and refreshing.  Sometimes our souls just need a shower.  A nice soaking of water to get out any spot or wrinkle or any such thing.

Soul shower.  I read the Word.  I hear the Word through podcasts, through music, through my own voice declaring it.  And all the unwanted stuff of the world starts to fall off.  And my perspective is renewed.  I feel lighter.  Cleaner.  Fresh.  Blissful sigh and thank you, Jesus.

What takes practice is to live in a state of clean.  To be so saturated with the Word that when the world, my flesh, or the devil tries to throw a little something my way to just trip me up or ruin the atmosphere of my home it slides off.  It literally cannot stick.  Oh, to always live in that place!

The way to do that, of course, is to constantly be surrounded by the Word.  Let Scripture adorn the walls of your home.  Let Scripture be on your lips at all times.  Get in the habit of speaking it out-loud throughout the day.  Have Bibles here, there, and everywhere in your home–the kitchen, the bathroom, the living room, the bedroom.  And if you start to get that hint of a soul untidy–wash with the water of the Word.  It’s always available to refresh you.

Lord, I ask that we would be able to walk with You in a state of clean.  I ask that none of the filth of this world would be able to stick.  Help us, Holy Spirit, to cultivate an atmosphere in our homes that is joyful, pure, lovely, and sweet.  A place that You, peaceful Spirit, want to abide.  Wash us with the water of Your Word.  Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

