Skip to content

Prayer For Week of October 8–Want to be used by God?

October 8, 2012
tags:
by

I hear people so often expressing how they want to be used by God.  I’ve heard it prayed very often. And I confess, I’ve prayed it myself! It’s a nice idea that God can use people.

Then again…God can use anything.

Even a donkey prophesied in the Old Testament.

I don’t know who wrote this, but I always like it:

The next time you feel like G0D can’t use you, just remember…

“Noah was a drunk 
Abraham was too old 
Isaac was a daydreamer 
Jacob was a liar 
Leah was ugly 
Joseph was abused 
Moses had a stuttering problem 
Gideon was afraid 
Samson was a womanizer 
Rahab was a prostitute 
Jeremiah was too young 
David had an affair and was a murderer 
Elijah was suicidal 
Isaiah preached naked 
Jonah ran from God 
Naomi was a widow 
Job went bankrupt 
Peter denied Christ 
The Disciples fell asleep while praying 
Martha worried about everything 
The Samaritan woman was divorced
Zaccheus was too small 

Paul was too religious and 
Lazarus was dead!”

God can use ANYONE! It’s nothing to brag about that God can use you. A lot of people that God used were not very nice people.

What is really something is that even if God never chooses to use me, HE WANTS ME!

In my opinion it’s a much better thing to be wanted by God. Mark 3:13 “Jesus went up on a mountainside and called to him those he wanted, and they came to him.”

I can make great sacrifices for God and make quite a showing of it. Yet, God really wants my heart… “You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.” Psalm 51:16-17

And what could be better than wanting someone and that someone wanting you back?!

Jesus, walk with me this week. It’s OK with me if You tuck me away in the secret place or if You ask me to move mountains.  I just want You and it just blows me away that You want me, too.  Let me keep that as my focus this week, Lord.  Amen.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

