Skip to content

The 10 Day Give: DAY THREE!

October 3, 2012

Yesterday we asked how prepared you were for life’s happenings.  80% of those voting said, “Not so prepared.  I know I should be preparing my Provision Room better but I just haven’t made the time.”   Well, we have some work to do, folks!  May this little sign inspire you:

And the winner is…..

MicahC!  

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Now on to today’s GIVE!

We are so blessed to know a beautiful and gifted singer/songwriter named Flo Paris.  In fact, this last summer we had a concert in our backyard with Flo!  What a treat!  She, along with some other musical mommies have put together the loveliest album for children that we’ve come across in a long time!  It’s called Big Stories For Little Ones.

Of course I loved it from the moment I listened to it.  And the kids love it, too–even the big ones.  What really made me a fanatic, though, was on a road trip from Los Angeles to San Antonio, this album made my eight month old so happy!  He got bored in the car, naturally, and would fuss.  BUT, if we put on this album he was happy as a clam.  And it’s the kind of music that does not drive the grown-ups crazy.  The melodies and harmonies are so folksy and fun.  I love it that all the stories are told in such uplifting ways, making God the hero of every tale.  This collection is truly ART for your children, not just noise to fill the time.

We love this album so much we are giving one away today!  Do you have a little person in your life?  This is the perfect gift!  

Leave us a comment telling us what you usually listen to in the car or just a cute little story about something funny your little one has done.  Make us laugh or make us cry!  We’ll choose a winner and announce it in the morning!

It’s day THREE of the 10 Day Give!  Are you giving along with us????

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2012 7:41 am

    I’m sure you can relate — everyone has an opinion about what should be played in the car!! “NO, MOM!! NOT BASEBALL!!!!” Hahahaha! Right now, there is a CD from Yo Gabba Gabba! (I actually really love this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jtn3Apxwj4) There are a few local Christian music stations, and that often gets the vote, although my favorite station went defunct a few years ago (it has harder, more TRUE rock-oriented songs — http://www.effectradio.com/), and I’m still in mourning about its loss…

    I listened to several songs from this CD a while back. I really love well-done folk music, and would love to win it!!!

  2. Lisa permalink
    October 3, 2012 7:42 am

    My littlest isn’t so little anymore; he’s growing quickly and is now 6. He’s very curious and wants to try everything…do everything. I guess the cutest recent thing was that he requested a mohawk. My husband cuts our son’s hair, so he gave him his version of a mohawk, and I cheerfully gelled it into spikes each morning. It lasted 7 days exactly. The evening of the seventh day, he came to my husband and requested that the mohawk be shaved off. We asked why he wanted this. His reply? “Well, actually, I just wanted to see what it was like, and if you would object. You didn’t object. I saw what it was like. Now I believe I’m done with it.” His exact words. 🙂

    • sarah-kate* permalink
      October 3, 2012 2:43 pm

      LOL!!!! THAT is a riot!

    • Daja permalink*
      October 3, 2012 4:48 pm

      Wow! Called his bluff! I love it! (We let our kids have mohawks when they ask, too.)

  3. October 3, 2012 7:49 am

    http://www.scripture-lullabies.com/ is one of our favorite CDs….it’s so peaceful and encouraging. AND I know the people who produced it; I also know that they really do GIVE a CD for every one that is bought.

  4. MicahC permalink
    October 3, 2012 11:28 am

    Oh my! Thank you!!!! I doubt I am eligible to win again but here is what happened to me the day before yesterday.

    My two year old son came into the living room where I was sitting and said, “Look Mommy!” and held his hand out to me.
    I peered into his hand for several seconds before I finally gave up and asked, “What is it?”
    “ummmm….POOP!” he replied.
    At which point I started shrieking frantically “Go! GO! Go put it in the potty!!!”
    He was unfazed by my reaction and said “Okay” and trotted calmly off the the bathroom.
    He is potty training and had pooped in the potty on his own and then retrieved it to show me his big accomplishment! Thank goodness for antibacterial soap!

    • Daja permalink*
      October 3, 2012 12:52 pm

      Oh my goodness! That’s a story to tuck away for when he is older and needs to be embarrassed. LOL! Oh the joys of potty training!

  5. October 3, 2012 2:01 pm

    I usually don’t listen to anything in the car. Like to think, enjoy, the scenery or sing if I am alone. If I am with Andrew then we usually talk.

  6. Chelsea Wipf permalink
    October 3, 2012 5:22 pm

    When I am by myself, I like silence! But when the kiddos are all with me which is most of the time, we like to listen to classical music on NPR, or a childrens bible song cd.

  7. October 3, 2012 6:02 pm

    Cielo cried for 7 months every time she was in her carseat. I was a nervous wreck, I wouldn’t leave the house unless it was necessary. The only times she didn’t cry was when I played Michael Bubble’s music and Andrea Bocelli’s Under the Tuscan Sun c.d. Now she is better on car rides but still we don’t go anywhere if we don’t have those c.ds with us.

    • Daja permalink*
      October 3, 2012 6:33 pm

      Cielo has great taste in music! 🙂

Leave a Reply

