Skip to content

Prayer for the Week August 20 – In His Presence

August 20, 2012
tags:

As many of us have kids heading back to school this week it seems only fitting that we take a moment to breathe and focus on God’s presence.  We know from the word that God promises to never leave us or forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:6,) but don’t you find it easy to forget?  I do.  I forget that he is walking right beside me, that His Spirit is within me.  When I forget, that’s when everything goes south.  So this year in the hustle and bustle of our school year we are focusing in on God’s presence.  We are are reading this little gem of a book called, The Practice of the Presence of God, by Brother Lawrence.

“There is no sweeter manner of living in the world than continuous communion with God…If I were a preacher, I would preach nothing but practicing the presence of God.  If I were to be responsible for guiding souls in the right direction, I would urge everyone to be aware of God’s constant presence, of for no other reason than because His presence is a delight to our souls and spirits.” (p.33-34)

I desire continuous communion with God. 

I long for an awareness of God’s constant presence.

As I taught my daughters this morning there is much to be gained from God’s presence.  Psalm 16:11 says, “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”

I want to be joy-full this school year, even on the “bad” days when nothing seems to be going as I planned.

Psalm 31:20 says, “You hide them in the secret place of Your presence from the conspiracies of man; You keep them secretly in a shelter from the strife of tongues.”

Whether I am at home or out, I want to remember that in His presence I am kept safely in a secret place hidden from the conspiracies of man.

Dear Father,

Thank you for your presence.  Thank you for being with me no matter where I go.  This year I long for a greater awareness of you.  I pray that I wouldn’t “forget” about you when I go about my daily tasks.  I confess my weakness.  I ask for your forgiveness.  Now I will trust you to do the work in me.

In Jesus’ Name, I pray.

Amen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

