Skip to content

Prayer For Week of July 30–No Comparison

July 30, 2012
tags:
by

As I glance around my room that is piled with clean laundry just asking to be put away, I think “I know my girlfriend’s room is totally put together and beautiful.”

As I ask my children for the umpteenth time to get their fingers out of their soup I think, “Other five year olds eat properly already!  What’s wrong with my kids?!”

As my husband and I struggle over paying the bills and wondering where the money went I think, “If only we communicated as well as our best friends.  I’m just sure that they never fight about money.”

As fall into bed exhausted and realize that I did not read my Bible today I beat myself up thinking, “I’m sure all the other folks I sit next to in church are so faithful at this.  They must be much better Christians.”

As my baby wakes up for about the 1,000th time in the same night my weary mind says, “Why can’t this kid be like the other 10 month olds, sleeping throughout the night consistently?!  I must be a weak parent.”

As I coach my first grader through a reading lesson and it seems he has forgotten everything we learned the day before, I’m riddled with feelings of inadequacy, “Please don’t let anyone know that you are still working through Fox in Socks!  Other kids are already reading the Iliad.”

As I lose my temper and say things I swore I’d never say to MY kids when I had them, I think, “Is it too early for a drink?”

And the Enemy laughs.  I’m caught in the trap of comparison.  Again.

 

It’s such an ugly thing.  Comparison robs us of our joy.  It steals from us the present as we ache over the past and yearn for the future.  It sucks the life and motivation out of us.  Most of all it causes a lack of awareness and gratefulness for the work that God is doing in our lives and the work He has already completed in Christ.

For we dare not class ourselves or compare ourselves with those who commend themselves. But they, measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.  2 Corinthians 10:12

The reality is that no one is exactly like what you see on Sunday morning or at your co-op or at your parent-teacher mixer.  People’s Christmas cards show them at their shiny best.  And that’s great.  But, even those that look like they have everything together all the time will have days where they can’t find matching socks, where they lose their cool with their kids, when they fail as a parent or a spouse or a friend.  We so often compare our Gag Reel with other folk’s Highlight Reel.

It’s so unwise (and indeed very painful) to compare your marriage with your friend’s marriage, your faith to your pastor’s faith, your finances to your neighbor’s finances.  The truth is that the only measuring stick that matters at all is Christ.  He’s the only One with whom we should be comparing ourselves.

And guess what?  With Christ as standard, we all fail.  That’s right.  We all need to get that straight from the get-go.  We all fail.  Miserably.  Dismally.  Completely.

But we are all like an unclean thing, And all our righteousnesses are like filthy rags; We all fade as a leaf, And our iniquities, like the wind, Have taken us away.  Isaiah 64:6

Now that we have that out of the way, we can face the good news.  Really the Best News.  And that is: For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body. So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority.  Colossians 2:9-10

So, you don’t measure up!  Not of yourself, that is.  But, joined with Christ, you are complete.  Full.  Lacking no good thing.

Hang onto that truth with your very life!  It silences the Enemy and gives you back the joy you need in every single moment of your very busy life.

 

Thank you, Sweet Jesus, for making me complete in you.  Give me the grace to hang onto that truth today.  You are more than enough and I have You.  Therefore, I have more than enough.  Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    July 30, 2012 12:04 pm

    Love this! You don’t have to keep up with the Joneses, Hallelujah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

