Skip to content

Prayer for Week of June 18–Reality

June 18, 2012

(This was written five years ago.  Yet somehow I feel like the Lord wants to revisit it today.)

In just four days we are moving to Pasadena! I can’t believe it’s finally here! We feel like we are camping….our house is full of boxes. The kids keep asking, “Mom, can we play with….” “No, baby. It’s packed. Sorry.”

Yesterday the chaos of moving, the boxes, not being able to find what I needed or a comfortable place to rest, the to-do list a mile long got to me. I was frustrated and irritated and the kids got the brunt of that.

Add to that they the kids stayed up until about 11:00 the night before at a church Christmas party. By the afternoon Meg was completely out of sorts. A little reprimand like, “Meg, stop putting your fingers in your water glass” made her tear up.

As we walked back to our car after eating at El Pollo Loco for lunch she had tears in her eyes and walked with her arms crossed. My compassion kicked in. I put my arm around her and asked, “What’s going on, Meg? What’s wrong today?”

In her five year old totally perceptive way she summed up the way I had felt all day. “I just don’t feel real today.”

I knew what she meant. But, I pried further. “Tell me about that. What do you mean?”

“I just don’t feel like myself—not really happy or anything. I just don’t feel real.”

As we walked together and she leaned against me, with her arms folded, periodically rubbing her eyes, I said, “I know exactly how you feel, Meg. I’ve felt the same way before. In fact, I did this morning—which is why you probably feel this way now.” I asked for her forgiveness. Of course she gave it, because she has the softest heart.

Later we took a little nap together. Well, I took a little nap (20 minutes). She took about a two hour nap! She awoke feeling much better. The latter part of our day was 10 times as productive as the beginning.

At dinner last night she told her daddy, “Daddy, today I didn’t feel real. But, Mommy said she’s felt that way before, too.” Gana said, “So have I, Meg.”

I think she was comforted to know that her parents had been there and she wasn’t alone.

Ever have a day when you don’t feel like you are real? You’re not alone. Reality is a tricky thing.

It’s an illusive thing sometimes—

like seeing and feeling. I see my kids with my eyes everyday. But sometimes I SEE my kids and I realize that it’s been a while since I really looked at them and SAW them for who they are.

My to-do list is not my mandate from God. And sometimes it’s a good idea to throw it out the window and take some time to BE and not to DO. It’s a good idea not to forget what it is like feel real and to feel like oneself again.

 

 

Lord, let us BE in Your presence this week.  In all we do may we not forget that our worth is not defined by our activity for You and that our success is not measured by our productivity.  We offer You our hearts at rest, knowing that we are complete in the Son.  May are reality be so intertwined in You that we cannot lose it, even for a moment.  Amen.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    June 18, 2012 12:29 pm

    Lord, let us BE in Your presence this week. In all we do may we not forget that our worth is not defined by our activity for You and that our success is not measured by our productivity. We offer You our hearts at rest, knowing that we are complete in the Son. May are reality be so intertwined in You that we cannot lose it, even for a moment. Amen.

    Amen and Amen!! Great post!

Leave a Reply

