Skip to content

Prayer for Monday, May 7–Like A Child

May 7, 2012
by

A few days ago my eight year old son decided that he and I needed to take an early morning walk and get coffee together, “like we used to.”  I think we’ve only done this one other time and that was more than a year ago, but once is all it takes for a child, right?  You do something they love once and then you’re locked in.  Well, I’ve had a busy few mornings, so I gently put him off.  He said, “How about Monday?”  I said, “We’ll see.”

Guess who crept into my bed while it was still dark this morning?  Yep.

“Today, Mom?”

“Let me sleep a LITTLE more.” I pleaded.  He went to the living room and held the baby (did I mention that in the process of my early morning conversation we woke the baby?) while I tried to catch a few more minutes of sleep.  It didn’t happen.  Now my Mommy’s heart was activated and even though my body was pleading for sleep, my heart said, “This would be such a special thing.  It’s things like this that he’ll remember.”

So……….

I pulled on some jeans and a sweater and half asleep found my running shoes.  We put the baby in the sling and we walked.  And talked.

I asked him, “Why did you want to go out with me so desperately?  Do you have something on your mind?”

He replied, “No, I just want to be with you.”

Melt. My. Heart.

We stopped at an odd little Thai French Bakery (I kid you not.  This is the weird hybrid Los Angeles neighborhood in which I live.) and got a coffee for me and a smoothie for him.  We just laughed and talked for a while and then walked home.

Jesus called a little child to him and put the child among them.  And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.”  Matthew 18:2-5

The disciples came to Jesus wanting to know who would be the greatest in Jesus’ Kingdom.  Jesus could have done a lot of things at this point.  He could have encouraged them to keep the law.  He could have told them that whoever did the most good works or biggest miracle would be greatest.  He could have picked the most learned one among them.  But He didn’t.  He called a little child to Himself.

Ever wonder where this child came from?  In this passage Jesus is not teaching a multitude.  He is talking to His disciples–His friends.  I bet it was one of the disciples’ children.  And it wasn’t “Bring Your Child To Work Day.”  I just have a feeling there was a kid–not alike my son–who said, “I just want to be with you” and tagged along for the day.  Maybe his or her daddy sighed, “It’ll be a long day.  And there won’t be other children there.”  And the child said, “That’s OK.  I just want to be with you.”

Then this child’s father starts questioning Jesus about who is the greatest.  And Jesus’ keen eyes zero in on this child and says, “Come here.”  And the child goes to Him.  And Jesus pulls this one on His lap and says, “If you don’t follow me, like this little child follows his father, you can’t come into my Kingdom.”

I feel like the Lord is challenging us to be more childlike.  He’s challenging us to lay aside weightier questions of the law and to-do lists that are too full and ulterior motives for prayer.  He just wants us to be with Him.  He just wants to say, “What’s on your heart?”  And to take a walk with us and to get a smoothie.  When’s the last time you had a smoothie with Jesus?

I have a friend who used to have a PB&J date with Jesus now and then.  She’d make a sandwich and go sit by the beach and just be with Jesus with no schedule or agenda.  I think Jesus likes that.

Jesus, I love you.  I want to be with You this week.  Even though I am busy and lots of people have claims on my time, I want to clear space just to walk with You.  Because nothing else matters so much as knowing You and experiencing You.  Amen.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ladydorothy permalink
    May 7, 2012 9:25 am

    So good.

  2. May 8, 2012 6:57 pm

    definitely timely for me! thanks so much!

  3. February 1, 2013 8:50 pm

    Hey ladies, I just wanted to follow up a tad bit on his post from way back last spring. I had commented when you initially posted, but now I can elaborate 🙂 At the end of April, 2012, my husband and I made the decision to adopt from Ethiopia! As we started getting things in order and thinking through things, I was really seeking God on putting together (another) blog – just for our family, that would capture the spirit of why we knew that we were called to adopt. The very morning I prayed for some direction, this post popped into my news feed and I almost cried through it! In it’s simplicity, it captured exactly how we were feeling as we moved ahead with our adoption! Fast forward a bit and, for various financial reasons, we had to wait to get the ball rolling, but we are now fundraising for our adoption!!! thanks SO much for posting this – it meant – and still means – so much and we titled our adoption blog after the verse that you used – http://www.matthew18five.com thanks so much and blessings!

    • February 1, 2013 9:51 pm

      Wow.

      Wow, wow, wow.

      God is so very good. We are so happy for your upcoming adoption. Congratulations, Sweet Bloggy friend! We are rejoicing with you and are so very humbled and blessed that we had even the tiniest part in your story. We’ll be checking out your adoption blog and praying for a blessed adoption journey. So glad that the Lord let our paths cross–for now in blogsphere, but hopefully one face-to-face.

Leave a Reply

