Skip to content

Prayer for the week of April 2–Bedikat Chametz with a side of Grace, please.

April 2, 2012
tags:
by

Been busy all week preparing for Passover.  All chametz has to be removed from the house.  Chametz is anything with leaven in it.  This means moving the furniture to sweep out any hidden crumbs.  Vacuuming under the couch cushions.  Wiping down everything in the pantry.  Washing all the bedding–including sheets, blankets, and pillows.  You get the idea.

For seven days no leaven shall be found in your houses….

Exodus 12:19


 

The kids helping with the Bedikat Chametz

I’ve been working, working, working.  I’ve been trying, trying, trying.  There’s so much to do!  Not just the chametz removal, but the food prep, printing the Haggadah for everyone, finding enough cushions for everyone to recline, remembering all the little details.  I mean, you wouldn’t know by looking at me, but I can be quite the perfectionist.   If I’m going to do this Passover thing, I’m going to do it right!

My house has never been swept and mopped so often.  But, you wouldn’t necessarily know it.  There are crumbs and bits of this and that.  Are those noodles?!  Seriously?!  I just cannot get all the chametz out of this house, despite every effort.  No matter how careful I am, little children insist on creating crumbs–that slide down their chins, to their shirts and pants and eventually the floor.  I’ve been tempted to make them eat their meals outside or in the bathtub until Passover is over.

I love observing Passover.  It’s such a celebration of freedom!  It makes me want to dance and sing to think about it!  And yet, in preparation for a celebration of FREEDOM, I put myself in such bondage to perfectionism.

Your glorying is not good. Do you not know that a little leaven leavens the whole lump?  Therefore purge out the old leaven, that you may be a new lump, since you truly are unleavened. For indeed Christ, our Passover, was sacrificed for us.  I Corinthians 5:5-6

The whole act of trying to removing the chametz and failing miserably has been….wonderful.  You know what?  I cannot remove all the leaven (a.k.a. sin) from my life.  Even if I work my fingers to the bones and become Mrs. Super Christian, there will still be that pesky leaven hiding.  “Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death?”  Romans 7:24

But, Christ–my Passover–has completed the work.

“I do not set aside the grace of God; for if righteousness comes through the law, then Christ died in vain.”  Galatians 2:21

Thursday before sunset we will remove all the leaven from the pantry and refrigerator, box it up and take it to the garage.  And I will explain to the children that we have to remove all sin from our lives–even the little stuff, but that we cannot do it by ourselves.  We have to have The Passover Lamb–all of our own efforts will always fall short.  Then we will have some friends in for the Seder.  There will be lots of laughter, lots of wine, lots of prayer, and even some dancing.  We will offer the Lord, not our perfection, but our gratefulness for the freedom we have in Him!

Be careful not to worship perfection.  

Strive for excellence as a means of worship.
~Tsh Oxenreider
Jesus, My Lord, thank You for being My Passover Lamb.  I’m grateful that all perfection lies in You!  Today I lay before You my whole heart and soul.  Search it.  Know it.  See if there be any wicked way in me.  Lead me in the way everlasting.  (Psalm 139)  And through all this busy season of Passover and Easter may my striving for perfection not lead me away from You.  Rather let the gratefulness and abundance You’ve put in me shine through everything and through every moment.  It’s all for love and out of thankfulness that I do all of this.  Amen.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2012 8:31 pm

    Love it! 🙂 We will celebrate on Friday–not the official Passover day, but we love to observe it with friends. (and this works for them)

    • Daja permalink*
      April 17, 2012 2:41 pm

      Serena, where did your mom get your Haggadah?

  2. Jessica A permalink
    April 17, 2012 1:39 pm

    What Haggadah do you use? We started celebrating Passover several years ago but are having trouble finding a family-friendly one…

    • Daja permalink*
      April 17, 2012 2:40 pm

      Years ago I got a copy of a Messianic Haggadah from my sister. I don’t know where she got it, as it’s the one she grew up using! I really like it, but don’t know where you could get it! I’m so sorry!

      It is long, but not as long as some, I think. And, when I print it each year I do a special one for each child and include some Pesach themed activity sheets and coloring pages in the back. Especially for the little ones who have trouble tracking through the whole thing they have something to occupy their little hands. I also put out some light snacks, because it’s about an hour and two glasses of wine before we get to the meal! LOL! So, I put out some almonds, figs, dried fruit, olives, etc. out for easy munching while we read.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

