Skip to content

Daja’s April Meal Plan

March 31, 2012
by

Why does it seem that this time of year seems to just pile up with activity?!  I had to eek out time for meal planning in between planning an art show for our homeschool co-op, preparing for Passover, cleaning the house for Passover, taking my kids to rehearsals for the Palm Sunday program at church–in which two have solos, picking up our once a month food from Azure, and then all the regular stuff!  But, as I’ve made meal planning a priority, it had to get done!  So, a little here, a little there, and cookbooks spread out over the dining table, we got it done!

April’s menu represents the last of our “Winter” menu.  I wrote in some of our favorite oven baked, casserole-y, cheesy-topped-goodness meals.  The weather is just a BIT chilly still.  But, by May it will feel like Summer in Southern California.  Then our menu will have a lot more vegetable based dishes and things we throw on the grill.  I’m kind of looking forward to it (the food, not just handing off some of the food prep to my husband!), yet want to enjoy a few more cozy meals.

We will continue doubling two meals a week, except for on week four of April.  You’ll notice something big and important about this menu: *big smile*  I get a full week off from major cooking!  During that week we will eat our dinners from the first meals we put in the freezer!  Keeping the freshest ones in there for later!  How great is that?!  (Our Pantry Tools will help us keep track of which meals need to come out!)

(For those that asked, I am still working on the tutorial for the Mongolian dumplings!  Hopefully that will get to the Recipe File this month!)

 

 

So what are you eating in April?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 1:45 am

    Do you have picky eaters? Paidan is so picky, I practically have to feed him the same thing everyday. He gets 3 prunes when he wakes up (for regularity) along with water, then some sweet potato and banana buckwheat pancakes. Lunch is a peanut butter and honey sandwich along with a green smoothie (kale, spinach, broccoli, banana and flax seeds). Dinner is usually quinoa with a little lemon on it. He wont eat any vegetables, he barely started eating celery after watching Patrick. lol He hates beans and avocado and usually anything that even looks a little weird. I cut up some mango and kiwi yesterday and he refused to try it just by looking at it. We dont do any animal products anymore. so no eggs or dairy. Im hoping he snaps out of it bc i want to cook a variety of things. Like your meal plan…. it looks delicious!

    • Daja permalink*
      April 1, 2012 6:01 am

      I don’t have picky eaters–at least none that I acknowledge! LOL! My husband is pretty picky. But, I refuse to acknowledge that as well. My kitchen motto is, “This is not a restaurant and I am not a short order cook.” LOL!!!!

      Really, though, the rule is that you don’t have to like it, but you do have to TRY it. And you have to at least TRY it every time it is served. Maybe you didn’t like peas last month, but our taste buds change with exposure. So, when I make them again this month, you must try them again. If you choose not to eat it, that’s OK, but I’m not heading to the kitchen to make you something else. This is the only way it can be in a family my size. If I started catering to taste whims I’d be forever in the kitchen.

      My meals are always varied, so if there is a particular taste that someone doesn’t like chances are good that the next meal will be completely different. For example, my husband does not like Mexican food at all (I know, crazy, right?!) but he just puts up with it because the next meal will be something completely different like Italian or Mongolian.

      My advice would be to keep exposing Paidan to new foods and just keep making him try things. Eventually you’ll see his palate grow. Especially if you are doing the Vegan thing you need to take your food from a wide variety of foods (fruits, vegetable, herbs and grains) so that he’s getting all the nutrients he needs.

Leave a Reply

