Skip to content

Prayer For The Week of March 19–All Things Working Together

March 19, 2012
tags:
by

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.  For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren.”  Romans 8:28-29

I’m constantly amazed at the way things work together.  On the surface things can seem so random, but look a little deeper and I’m convinced that Someone much wiser than myself is working things out.  For my good.  Even in the midst of things that seem sort of pointless and things that seem sort of odd and things that seem sort of bad.  God is working things out for my good.  That’s a lovely and comforting and rather cliche thing to say–except for when you’re holding onto it as a lifeline.

The life of a mother is really a series of miracles, one right after another.  How is it that we can love each child with all our heart?  How is it that love, energy, time, and resources seem to multiply?  How is it possible that we manage to be busy all day after only maybe 4 hours of sleep?  How does it work that this child in my arms is 20 pounds at five months old and I sustain him solely from what my own body produces?  The miracles just don’t seem to end!

And all the miracles work together.  One thing effects another, which triggers another and the blessings expand.

Do you remember the story in the Old Testament when Joshua prayed and the sun stood still?  There was a fierce battle and the armies of the Lord needed a little more time.  So, Joshua prayed.  “So, the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and did not hasten to go down for about a whole day. And there has been no day like that, before it or after it, that the Lord heeded the voice of a man; for the Lord fought for Israel.” (Joshua 10:30-14)

There was a tremendous victory for the armies of the Lord and terrible defeat for His enemies.  Yet, can you imagine the huge repercussions of this?  Perhaps it is my current reality–always pressed for time and always wanting just a wee bit more sleep than I got, but I can’t help but think that if the Lord made the sun to stand still, the moon stood still, too.

Somewhere on the other side of the world was a Mommy, with too many loads of laundry to wash and too many mouths to feed.  She went to bed past her bedtime because she was tending to family business and searching for wayward socks livestock.  And she went to bed thinking, “Daylight is coming far too soon” even as she lovingly looked on her children and husband.

When she awoke the next morning–or was it the next morning?–she felt so rested!  Could it possibly have been only one night?  She felt as if she could truly face another day and another lifetime of loving her family.

Mommy reading this devotion, God has supernatural rest for you.  He has ways to multiply all your efforts, to cause four hours of sleep to feel like eight, to take two cans of tuna and turn it into supper.  Everything dedicated to Him turns into a blessing.

Father, we come to you this Monday morning, looking at a week that is full.  It’s full of seemingly good things and seemingly bad things.  There are things we are eager to do and things we’d rather not deal with.   Truthfully, we don’t know how it will all get done.  Yet we know (we know!) that You have already given us everything we need that pertains to life and godliness.  (2 Peter 1:3)  So we commit this week to You.  We offer to You everything on our to-do lists: the household chores, the gardens, the homeschooling, the bill-paying, the errands that cannot be put off.  We lay them all down before You.  You show us what is priority and what is unnecessary.  You show us how to prioritize to accomplish everything.  You show us how to honor You in it all and to bring You glory.

We ask You for more than enough.  More than enough time.  More than enough energy.  More than enough sleep.  And we trust You for how You will work that out for our good.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all we ask or think, according to the power that works in us…Ephesians 3:20

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexandra permalink
    March 19, 2012 10:11 pm

    I LOVE how you thought of the moon standing still.. Ha! It never even crossed my mind before.

    As one who routinely prays for “concentrated sleep”, I can sooo relate to this… and testify to His goodness in multiplying my time, energy, and love. A year ago, I had to drop out of a class so I wouldn’t end up failing it (I was taking 2 classes at the time and felt like I had NO TIME), and now I’m going to school full time and acing my classes!

    (When I first started at USC, I kept thinking, “I’m gonna die. How can I make it at USC if I can’t make it at PCC?!” Life got twice as busy, my workload doubled, and the content is became more challenging… but by the grace of God I am prospering in a place I feared would “kill me”.

    And in the midst of such a busy season, my love for Bella has just exploded.. which I didn’t think would/could happen… but it did. I find myself thinking throughout the day “Bella’s awesome. She’s the best!” .. and I can’t wait to finish school to hopefully be home with her full-time. While I would have assumed that my attention would be occupied elsewhere during these last two years of school, I have become more and more focused on my child. 🙂

    God is so GOOD!

  2. Alexandra permalink
    March 19, 2012 10:21 pm

    or wait… maybe the moon still rotated around the earth and they saw it during the day?!
    Now I’m going to be wondering about this for a while, lol. 🙂

    • Daja permalink*
      March 20, 2012 5:59 am

      If the moon kept going then those people on the other side of the earth would be dark indeed!

Leave a Reply

