Skip to content

Prayer for the week of March 12 – Be Filled

March 12, 2012

After they prayed, the place where they were meeting was shaken.  And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke the word of God boldly.  Acts 4:31

I must be filled with God.  It is not sufficient for me to just have a touch, experience, or even a desire.  For me to walk out this life journey I must be filled.  Filled to overflowing with God’s presence.  Only when I’m filled can I truly walk in “whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”  (1 Corinthians 10:31)  In that place I know how to care for my family, how to be a good friend, how to be a light in the dark world around me.  When I allow myself to get caught up in busyness (swim practice, swim meets, rehearsals, book clubs, co-ops, doctors appointments…) I leak.  Remember the “broken vessel?”  Broken things leak.

Sadly, the reason the world isn’t seeing Jesus is that Christians aren’t filled with Jesus.  Sure we go to church on Sunday, read our Bible occasionally, and pray when we’re really in trouble.  But until we are so filled with God and consumed by His desires we look and let’s face it, we act more like the world.  I think Smith Wigglesworth said it best.

“If God lays hold of you by the Spirit, you will find that there is an end of everything and a beginning in God.  Your whole body will become seasoned with a divine likeness of God.  He will not only begin to use you, but also take you in hand, that you might be “a vessel for honor” (2 Tim. 2:21).  Our lives are not to be lived for ourselves, for if we live for ourselves we will die (Rom. 8:13); but if “by the Spirit [we] put to death the deeds of the body, [we] will live” (v.13)  He who lives in the Spirit is subject to the powers of God, but he who lives for himself will die.  The man who lives in the Spirit lives a life of freedom, joy, blessing, and service—- a life that brings blessing to others.”

This week ask the Lord to fill you.  Turn aside from your daily “to do’s” and be filled by the Spirit.  Then this week will be like no other.  Your home, your job, your family, everyone you meet will be “shaken” with the life-changing presence of God.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    March 12, 2012 9:21 am

    Thank you for your dedication and sharing your gift of faith to generously!!

  2. Raquel Soto permalink
    March 12, 2012 10:35 am

    This is so true 🙂 I know when I’m so busy with other things first before Papa (GOD), my day is not the same.

  3. March 13, 2012 4:37 pm

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

