Skip to content

A new week and the party continues!

March 7, 2012

Thank you to all our fantastic readers and party goers last week!  What a fantastic opening week!  Y’all know how to have a good time!

Congratulations to the winner of our launch week giveaway!  We know you will enjoy the best biscotti, the best book and the best organic food we could find!  Nothing but the best for you all!  You deserve it!

CHEERS TO YOU!

I hope you’ve rested up from all the partying last week, because the celebration continues!

This week we will focus on starting to build your natural healing medicine cabinet!   There’s so much to learn, but we will cover just a bit to get you started.

This week we are giving away some of our favorite stuff in the world.  If you come to either of our homes and you have a headache we will hand you this stuff.  If your kids are playing the backyard and twist an ankle, we reach for this stuff.  When our husbands come home from work having a stressful day, we reach for this stuff. It is THE stuff.

And we are going to just GIVE IT AWAY to one very special Provision Room reader!  Can you believe it?!  We feel like Oprah!

Central Coast Lavender Farm has provided this week’s giveaway!  Central Coast Lavender is truly one of our favorite places–in real life, not just online!–in one of our favorite regions of the state.  The Central Coast of California is where I grew up and although I haven’t lived there in many years, it still holds my heart.

Lila of Central Coast Lavender has an amazing story of how lavender has helped her recover from MS and live her best life!  Read her inspirational story here.

For participating in this week’s giveaway you can win:

Healing Butter.

This is phenomenal.  We use it for all sorts of aches and pains.  When my boys have a brutal Kung Fu match, it’s Lila’s Healing Butter to the rescue!  When Kristina’s kids have an exhausting swim meet and come home with sore muscles, this is what she uses.  When my husband has a rough day at work (he’s a carpenter), it’s Lila’s Healing Butter that I rub into his shoulders and neck.  It smells DIVINE, I’m telling you!  D-VINE!  You will love it.  You will relax, feel refreshed and your pains will just melt away.

You can order it on Lila’s website for $25.  But you just might win it for FREE here!

But that is not all!  (Do I sound like an infomercial or what?!)  Along with the Healing Butter, Lila is adding her pure

Lavender Essential Oil!

We have used lavender eo around here for everything from bug bites to headaches to “women” problems.  It’s our ultimate GO-TO.  When folks around here start getting sniffles or sinus congestion, we immediately sprinkle a few drops of this oil on a cotton handkerchief.  Every time we wipe our noses and cover our mouths to cough we breath in its healing goodness!

This sells online for $20.  But, you might win it for FREE here!

Here’s how you can enter this week’s giveaway(A $45 value!!!)

1. Leave us a comment telling us what your favorite home remedy is!  We love us some good folk medicine around here.  What do you use for colds, burns, stomach bugs, headaches, menstrual cramps, etc.?  Don’t keep your healing arts to yourself!  Share!  (1 entry)

2. Blog about this giveaway on your blog!  BE SURE TO ALSO LEAVE US THE LINK so we can visit you!  (2 entries)

3. Like us on Facebook if you haven’t already. (1 entry)

4. Visit Lila’s website and leave us a comment back here letting us know you’ve been there and what you liked!  (1 entry)

5. Visit Lila’s farm in Paso Robles.  Seriously, if you do this we’ll give you ten entries!  Woot!!!  Road trip!  (Be sure to snap a photo while you are there and email it to us at theprovisionroom AT gmail DOT com)

This giveaway ends Wednesday, March 14 at 11:59 EST.

Ready?  Set? PARTY!!!!!!!

[This giveaway is now CLOSED.  See who won: here.  Thank you for entering!]

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 9:38 pm

    favorite home remedy…i’d say breastmilk…for colds, earaches, etc. on their site, I’d be up for some healing butter! sounds soothing!

    • Daja permalink*
      March 8, 2012 10:40 pm

      I’ve used breastmilk for a lot of things, too! Liquid miracle, isn’t it?

  2. March 8, 2012 9:40 am

    I love your new blog! What a blessing it is already! I have been working at stocking a pantry and medicine cabinet for a long time and I can always use more info to improve on what I have started.

    My favorite items to have on hand are: Arnica and Oscilloccocinum.

    Many Blessings,

    Holly Urbach

    • Daja permalink*
      March 8, 2012 10:40 pm

      Homeopathics are so wonderful, aren’t they? We use them quite a bit in our home, too!

      Glad you’ve joined us Holly!!!

  3. March 8, 2012 12:04 pm

    Favorite home remedy for colds, garlic tea. Basically boil water, take 4-7 cloves of garlic, shell it, cut of the tips, smash between two table spoons and place in a tea cup. Pour boiling water. When cool enough to drink breathe it in and drink it.
    2-3 cups a day with sleep and you’ll be better in no time at all.

    • Daja permalink*
      March 8, 2012 10:42 pm

      Great remedy! So practical! Everyone has garlic on hand–an easy, affordable, and effective remedy! Love it!

  4. March 8, 2012 4:36 pm

    I visited Lila’s website. I liked the “Why Lavender?” section the most. It was very informative and I’m sure the information will come in handy in the future!

  5. Pamela Gray permalink
    March 8, 2012 4:57 pm

    I sampled some of this amazing product at Daja’s ….. and loved it! My husband needs this stuff after a long days work.

  6. Kay Lee permalink
    March 10, 2012 11:07 am

    I heard that putting garlic in your ear works great for an ear infection.
    The recipes section on Lila’s site look yummy. I like cooking with her Fine French Culinary Lavender. I have visited Lila’s farm and it was lovely!

  7. March 11, 2012 10:53 pm

    1. I like using raspberry leaf tea for menstrual cramps. And of course when Paidan was a baby I used breastmilk for EVERYTHING… if he was sick, if he fell, if he was sleepy, bored etc. lol And that elderberry syrup you recommended works wonders!
    2. I already like you guys on FB. =-)
    3. I visited her site and I really want to try the healing balm since my hands have been really dry lately, not sure if i wash my hands too much or if its just bc Im getting old. lol No lotion Ive tried has worked so far. Only Paidans eczema cream but its too greasy.

  8. March 12, 2012 12:05 pm

    I posted about the givaway on my blog, and liked you on facebook. I am still learning about home remedies, but mullein tea and lobelia tincture worked well when David had whooping cough. I visited the lavendar site and the whole thing is lovely. The recipes look interesting. I will be bookmarking it for future reference. And unfortunately I live way too far away to visit the lavendar farm anytime soon 😦

  9. March 12, 2012 12:07 pm

    Here is the link to my blog too.

    http://celkate.blogspot.com/

  10. March 13, 2012 4:06 pm

    I’m not sure it is my favorite, but I use GSE quite a bit.

    Now, lavender? I’ve had a love affair with lavender for years. It is good for so much! Of course, I fell in love with Lila the moment I met her!

  11. March 13, 2012 4:07 pm

    I still like you on Facebook, by the way. 🙂

  12. March 13, 2012 4:11 pm

    Went (again) to the Central Coast Lavender website. You know what hit me this time? It’s the same color scheme as my bedroom! LOL I think that green stripe is the same as my shower curtain! So, of course, you know I liked it! (Yeah, I know you meant product, but it’s all fabulous.)

  13. THE Bombshell* permalink
    March 13, 2012 6:44 pm

    MY favorite HOME remedy? Lay down on my husband’s portable chiropractic table in our family room and get ADJUSTED! 🙂 lol

    (Shout out to my mommy– holla!)

    • Daja permalink*
      March 13, 2012 7:23 pm

      You lucky, lucky duck! You have the coolest home remedy!

  14. March 14, 2012 11:07 am

    I went to the website. The healing butter does sound divine. MY remedy is most often GSE; we use it for everything. AND it works. I like you on Facebook, too! (I didn’t realize until NOW that I had not entered!)

  15. Claudia permalink
    March 14, 2012 9:22 pm

    Tea to relieve a persistent cough
    3 cloves of garlic
    1 stick of cinnamon
    2 eucalyptus leaves
    1 pinch of dry oregano or 1/2 tsp if is fresh
    Boil 6 cups of water with the ingredients listed above
    Serve the tea warm and add honey and lime/lemon juice to your taste.

    This is a mexican remedy.

    Also, if you are in an accident, or had a traumatic experience, they make you eat chocolate or sugar. They believe that by eating chocolate your body gets out of the shock faster.

  16. Claudia permalink
    March 14, 2012 9:34 pm

    I just read Lila’s story, very powerful. We will try go to the Lavander festival in July and visit her farm. Thank you Daja and Kristina

    • Daja permalink*
      March 14, 2012 9:40 pm

      ENJOY! Wish we could go, too!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Week 1 – And The Winner Is… « The Provision Room
  2. Week 2–And The Winner Is…. « The Provision Room

Leave a Reply

