Skip to content

Daja’s March Meal Plan

February 29, 2012
by

My husband has begged sweetly requested that I make more Mongolian food.  Food has a soul connection sometimes, you know?  So often food connects us with our culture and our identity.  So, I have tried to work it into the meal plan twice a week.  It has to sort of be carefully worked in though because 1) it’s meat heavy and as a rule we don’t eat that much red meat.  So, I had to balance the rest of the menu for our digestion and budget sake!  2) Mongolian food can be really labor intensive.  It takes a while to roll enough dumplings or noodles to feed this Mongolian tribe at my house!  So, I have to schedule it on days when I know that I’ll be able to be home most of the day.

 

If you see anything on either Kristina or my menu plans that you’d like the recipe and/or a tutorial for, just leave us a comment and let us know!  We are happy to oblige.  The Provision Room recipe file is your recipe file.  You tell us what you want in there!

The meals that you see a “x2” after are the meals that will be doubled so that one meal can go in the freezer.  These are meals we are saving for a special Mommy Surprise in April.  I will not just resort to these because I don’t want to plan and/or shop.  Now, off to make my shopping list!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Claudia permalink
    February 29, 2012 8:45 pm

    I will love the recipe of your meatloaf, when ever you have a chance. I’m planing on cooking it next week. I’m very happy that this week my grocery shopping was done in less than a hour and I saved about $15. I have 2 meals in the freezer and every day since Saturday I have been sending Jon to work with a lunch prepared with the leftovers from dinner.Thank you for your inspiration and ideas.

  2. Daja permalink*
    March 1, 2012 9:08 am

    Good for you, Claudia! I bet Jon is so happy with those delicious lunches!

    I will try to post a meatloaf “recipe” in the next couple of days. But it will be kind of loose. 🙂 My meatloaf is always slightly different depending on what vegetables are in season and what I have on hand.

  3. MaryBeth Loewen permalink
    March 5, 2012 3:41 pm

    Ummm I feel a little stalkerish knowing what you eat each day 🙂 J/K I meal plan for the month on my calendar in pencil because it often changes and often times more than once. Is yours a set in stone plan or how do you plan for flexibility? How do those who can read the posted meal plan handle it being different than what is written? Rob has been disappointed more than once when he came home to a supper different than what was written on the calendar when he left.

    • Daja permalink*
      March 5, 2012 9:02 pm

      I did have to switch a few things around last month. I made all the meals, just not necessarily on the day it was written.

      The bad thing about having it posted on the fridge is that everyone knows what we’re having and they say, “Hey, why aren’t we having X?” Oh well. I guess they’ve got to learn to be as flexible as the calendar! 🙂 By the end of last month there were all sorts of arrows and notes on it.

  4. Claire in CA, USA permalink
    March 13, 2012 9:19 pm

    Is Buuz what we had that time that Michael and I were over for dinner a few months ago? My gosh, those were FANTASTIC. I would love the recipe…whether or not I could actually make it? To be determined. 😀

    I love your website, Daja dahling! Kiss ’em all for me!

  5. Claire in CA, USA permalink
    March 13, 2012 9:20 pm

    Hmmm…it might have been Huurshuur.

    • March 13, 2012 11:39 pm

      If they were fried it was huurshuur. If they were steamed they were buuz. I can’t remember which ones we had when you were over here.

      I’m working on a tutorial for the steamed ones! Look for that in a few weeks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

