Skip to content

Prayer For Week of February 20 – Faith in Action

February 20, 2012
by

I’m a dreamer.  I’m a wisher.  I’m a hoper.  I’m a professional at making elaborate plans, but an amateur when it comes to following through.

“Arise, let us go hence.”  John 14:31

“Dreaming about a thing in order to do it properly is right; but dreaming about it when we should be doing it is wrong….Leave Him to be the source of all your dreams and joys and delights, and go out and obey what He has said.” –Oswald Chambers

I call Oswald Chambers my BFF.  Somehow, when I open his little devotional, it’s always as if he is speaking to me directly.  We may as well be sharing a corner table at a coffee house.

He is absolutely right.

Once we have the mind of God and know what we should be doing it is absolutely wrong to sit around still dreaming about it.  This is a season of action for me and my home.  We are on the cusp of Lent.  A time to clear things out, set things right, lay aside any weight that besets us.  The forty days of dreaming from Epiphany to Ash Wednesday is almost over.  And the forty days of trial and preparation is almost upon us.  May we be found faithful.

Lord, You taught us that faith without works is dead.  We know that this is true.  We also know that it is true that You provide us our daily bread.  Help us to be wise.  Help us to be like the sons of Issachar who understood the times and knew what had to be done.  We do understand the season we are in.  Our eyes are open.  May we put our shoulders to the task without looking back, without complaining and without procrastinating.  Our faith is alive and active.  And so we put it into action–active in prayer, active in work, active in preparation.  May our obedience be immediate, joyful and complete.  In Your Name, Amen.

But someone will say, “You have faith, and I have works.” Show me your faith without your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.  James 2:18

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

