Skip to content

Kristina’s Mid-month Progress Report

February 16, 2012

Wow!  Is this month flying by!  Sometimes it feels like I blink and a week is gone.

So the question is, how am I doing towards my February goals?  Not too bad if I do say so myself!

The buckets in front are the 2nd round of peas. I used these buckets for tomatoes in the summer so planting peas will help rejuvenate the soil.

My winter garden is flourishing with snap peas, fava beans, lettuce of varying varieties, broccoli raab, and cabbage.  About two weeks ago I seeded beets, carrots, radishes, arugula and another round of peas.  Those have popped their heads above ground despite the visit from the neighborhood raccoon.  (Some days I don’t have very nice thoughts toward that raccoon!)  And last weekend I started indoors kale, spinach, broccoli, broccoli raab, lemon balm, nasturtium, and Johnny Jump-Ups (edible flowers) for my spring garden rotation.  Before February is out I will need to start my summer garden seedlings…  I’m not quite ready to give up my bathtub yet.  I’ll explain and just have to post pictures of that when the time comes.

Seeds planted on my sunny kitchen windowsill. Just makes me happy!

For the freezer I have put up 3 dinner portions and 1 lunch portion of Enchilada Soup, 2 dinners of Greek Meatballs, and 1 Gingered Beef with Leeks & Asparagus.  Tonight I’ll also add ground turkey taco meat with black beans to the freezer.  That’s a total of seven meals already in the freezer!

My schedule has conspired against me in getting to the black beans I’m going to be canning.  But I AM going to get it done!!  I still have two weeks and there’s an extra day in February!

So far so good.  I’m really pleased with how everything is coming along.  One of my favorite things is not having to drop by the market all the time.  I’m saving A LOT of money by not impulse shopping and we’re eating out less as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ladydorothy permalink
    February 16, 2012 6:25 pm

    Your garden is so neat and pretty. I’m just a bit envious.

  2. February 17, 2012 3:42 pm

    I really love my garden. It’s one of my happy places. Nothing makes a garden look neater than a white picket fence!

Leave a Reply

