Skip to content

Prayer for the week of February 13–What’s in your hand?

February 13, 2012
by

Yesterday I was praying for this project–both the personal aspect of being prepared and the blog aspect of sharing this with the world.  And I kept being distracted in my prayers with all I have to do.  My to-do list ran through my mind, calling me in a thousand directions at once.  Cook, garden, write, plan, etc.

And I felt the Lord say, “And let the beauty of the LORD our God be upon us, And establish the work of our hands for us; Yes, establish the work of our hands.”  Psalm 90:17, NKJV

It is true that we have to plan; we have to work; we have to follow-through. It’s good to be the ant and not the grasshopper.  It’s good to work while it is day and all that.  And yet, we must not forget, that it is the LORD who establishes the work of our hands.

“And may the Lord our God show us his approval and make our efforts successful. Yes, make our efforts successful!”  NIV

As I meditated on “establish the work of our hands” I was reminded of Moses and the question the Lord asked him at his calling.   Moses got God’s call, but had some doubts.  We all do, don’t we, when God presents us with something that will require some faith and obedience?

What if it doesn’t work?

What if no one listens to me?

What if when it is all said and done I look like a fool?

What if I do my best and I still fail?

“What is that in your hand, Moses?” Exodus 4:2

Moses was holding his staff.  His staff.  That tool he used everyday to herd his sheep.  A piece of equipment he was so comfortable using it was almost like part of his own body.  Something that he was already quite accustomed to would be the means God would use to make His vision come to pass.  Yet, God would use it in a new way.  All those years of Moses learning his craft and using his staff was only the training ground for God now using that staff in a new way.  In a way that would usher in new freedom to people, provide protection, execute justice, and be a channel of grace.

Yes. Lord.

The tools I use everyday.  That’s all You’re asking for.

Where have I spent the last 11 years of my life?  In the kitchen making food for my family.  In the garden trying to grow food to feed my family.  At the computer writing and making plans.

What is in your hand?  

That is what God wants to use–reshaped, revised, re-envisioned.  He is an expert of taking the common and making it a supernatural blessing.  He is an expert of opening our eyes to see the everyday things as eternal.  And He can take the work of my hands and establish them as a blessing to others and to bring Him glory.

Pray Psalm 90:17 with me this week. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. ladydorothy permalink
    February 13, 2012 5:26 pm

    And the beauty of the Lord is indeed upon you.

Leave a Reply

