Skip to content

Daja’s February Meal Plan

February 8, 2012
by

Confession: I am not a good meal planner.  I LOVE to cook.  I adore food, almost to a fault.  I daydream about it, I read about it, I blog about it.  My happiest hours of the day are often in the kitchen.  However, I rarely stick to a meal plan.  I’ve tried and failed.  But, as they say, if at first you don’t succeed try try again start a blog about it.

Here is my family’s meal plan for February.  There are several comments I’d like to make about this:

1. I try to cook seasonally.  There are a lot more cheesy-casseroley-type foods on a February menu than there are on a July menu.  Likewise, there are a lot more salads and grilled veggies and such on a July menu than there are on a February menu.  If my meals seem a bit “heavy” that is why.

2. There are some things on my menu that will likely not be on yours–unless sometime I do a tutorial on how to make Mongolian food.  (Would anyone be interested in that?)

3. We do not eat out often, clearly.  We are a family of nine.  So eating out on a regular basis is out of the question most months.  But that is OK.  I’m not complaining–only pointing out that if you eat out, your meal plan will not be scheduled every single day as mine is.

4. You may be asking why there are no breakfast or lunch plans.  Breakfast Monday through Friday is almost always some sort of oatmeal: steel cut oats, regular oatmeal, baked oatmeal or homemade granola.  I usually soak my oats (steel cut or rolled) the night before.  At the same time I doctor them up.  We eat Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal, Rum Raisin Oatmeal, Cranberry Almond Oatmeal, Banana Creme Pie Oatmeal, etc.  (Perhaps we’ll do a whole post on that.  Anyone interested?)  Then in the morning they cook up really quickly and are delicious.  Takes the guess work out of my busy mornings so we can get to chores and school more quickly.  Plus, quite frankly, I am not as much of a morning person as I’d pretend like to be.

I don’t plan lunch either.  Lunch is often some sort of variation on leftovers.  For example yesterday for lunch we had tomato soup.  For dinner we had spicy chicken alongside brown rice.  Soooooo, today for lunch I took the leftover spicy chicken and cooked it in the leftover tomato soup.  Added some toast.  That was lunch.  So, it would not be cost effective for me to plan and shop for  a lunch menu when I’m already sort of getting a free ride as far as lunch is concerned.

If I don’t have leftovers our go-to things are the classic PB&J, grilled cheese, eggs, smoothies, rice or seaweed soup.

5. One more thing: I mostly just recorded the main dish.  Many of these meals will have bread, a salad or other vegetable along side.  But, we’ll decide that as we go along.  I also wasn’t too specific on things like “beans and rice.”  The beans might be anything from Mexican to Cajun to Baked Beans.  Depends on what mood I’m in.

With this meal plan I hope to avoid those extra trips to the store which 1) waste gas and 2) cause me to spend too much money.  So, without further ado, here is my February meal plan:

You’ll notice that some of the meals have a “x2” after them.  Those are the meals that I am doubling so that I can stock my freezer.  It’s just as easy to make two batches of mac-n-cheese as it is to make one.  So, one goes in the freezer.  However (and this is important), I will NOT eat the stuff that I put in the freezer.  As tempting as it would be to just pull one out because I spent too much time on Facebook and forgot to start dinner in time.  Those meals are not for now.  If you are tracking with us, I challenge you to do the same.  Just wait until April.  We are going to get a special Mommy Reward!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 11:02 pm

    Hey, is that Peasant Caviar on 2/22 my recipe??? We eat that all the time… variations of it. I make a hundred variations!

  2. Daja permalink*
    February 9, 2012 12:05 pm

    Basically yes! See what an inspiration you are! 🙂

  3. February 10, 2012 1:18 pm

    That’s great!!

    I have a small confession. I rarely make one-dish meals. And, I don’t often cook with ground meat. However, the Asian market, where I go about twice a month, ALWAYS has ground chicken and ground pork for $1.59/lb. So, even though I’ve been making this dish for more than a year as a side, I only recently discovered I could add some ground meat to it and call it a one-dish meal. Duh.

    • Daja permalink*
      February 11, 2012 9:36 pm

      I was planning to make it a one-dish meal, even without the meat. 🙂 Just some warm tortillas or something to go with it!

      My neighborhood, which they call Little Taipei, has some great Asian markets and the meat is so cheap! Makes me wonder where it comes from that it’s so cheap. Of course, no one there really speaks English for me to ask. LOL!

  4. ladydorothy permalink
    February 13, 2012 5:39 pm

    Okay, ladies, you need to tell us what Peasant Caviar is!

Leave a Reply

