Skip to content

February’s Goals, a.k.a. “Ya Gotta Start Somewhere”

January 31, 2012

We all know we need to be prepared for “The Big One.”  In California that means an earthquake.  If you live in Florida that means a hurricane.  If you life in Maine that may mean an ice storm.  If you’re in Florin in the Fire Swamp “The Big One” means a rodent of unusual size (R.O.U.S.es for you locals).

In actuality “The Big One” may come in very different shapes and sizes.  The Big One in your life might be a crashing financial market that puts your husband out of work.  The Big One might be needing to put life on hold to care for an aging parent or grandparent.  The Big One might be a medical diagnosis you didn’t expect.  There are a thousand different possibilities.  Are we ready?  Fairy tales with large rats aside, how many of us are actually prepared for “The Big One”?  Being ready means stocking our pantries and freezers, readying the gardens, having our documents up-to-date and in a safe place and so much more.

The sheer magnitude of what has to be done freezes some of us in our tracks.  I fully admit that that is me many times.  The answer is not pretending it doesn’t have to be done and retiring to the couch with a chick flick and a glass of wine.  I assure you.  I’ve checked.  That’s not the answer.  Live and learn.

So, we are going to break this thing down into baby steps.  And by baby steps, we really mean baby steps.  A few goals each month–each within arm’s reach.  Slow and steady wins the race, my friend.

And each month we’ll strive for one (just ONE) larger goal.  Not so large as to scare the spit out of us; just large enough to challenge us.


(image from here)

So without further ado, we present our GOALS FOR FEBRUARY!  Feel free to join us!

BABY STEPS:

1. Take inventory and brutally honest stock of our provision rooms.  By that we mean wherever we store food–big freezer, pantry, shelves in garage, spice cabinet, etc.  You don’t know what you need until you know exactly what you have.  Ask yourself: If I couldn’t go to the store for a while, how many meals could I scrape together from what I actually have on hand?  See our pantries in all their “before” glory on Flickr: The Provision Room’s Photostream.

2. Start a little food log.  Keep it for a couple weeks.  It’s easy to get ambitious and order a bunch of stuff from the co-op or bulk buy in your enthusiasm and then your husband says, “Dear, what are we going to do with a pantry full of freeze dried acai berries?  How often do we eat them?”  Then you’re stuck putting acai in everything from pancakes to chicken soup.  So, chart your food for a week or two.  That will give you a very good idea which foods you would need to have on hand in case running to the store is no longer an option.

3. Each week this month, put one lunch and one dinner in the freezer.  This is accomplished by simply doubling up on a meal already on the menu for the week.  For example, if you are making macaroni-and-cheese, make two pans.  Eat one and put on in the freezer.

“She carefully watches everything in her household…”  Proverbs 31:27

BIG GIRL STEP:

Kristina: Can 25lbs of black beans.  (Daja will tag along to take pictures and hopefully not to scrape beans off the ceiling and walls.)

Daja: Ready the garden.  It’s a genuinely sad state of affairs out there.  Time to pull the weeds and dead plants and get ready for the Spring garden.

True to our promise to you, dear readers, we will keep you updated on our successes and foibles.  On March 1st we will post pictures of our provision rooms so you can see the progress or lack thereof.  I’m believing for great things?  Aren’t you?  Please join us in taking baby steps towards being ready.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 12:38 pm

    This is great!

    And, DUH! Canning beans! We eat a LOT of beans, and I probably have 50 lbs of assorted dried beans in my pantry. But, I also eat a lot of prepared beans (kinds with no preservatives, of course!) — probably $6-8 worth per week. Well, more like $8-10, if you count refrieds. I never, ever thought about cooking up a big batch and canning them. I *WILL* do that.

    Thanks for the inspiration!! I have been considering stocking up my own pantry, for The Big One, whatever that may be. But, I need practical, usable ideas (such as canning my own beans!), so I’m looking forward to your adventures!

    And, I don’t have a freezer… I live in the Phx area, and it is *SO EXPENSIVE* to keep one running through the summer, which is 6 months long, if the freezer is kept in the garage. Yet, we have *NO* place for one in the house. And while my freezer has last summer’s green beans and basil, plus gallons of bone broth, and a bit of meat and veggies, there is no room for anything else. So, that is currently unresolved. But, I have *thought* about it. I guess it’s time to formulate some kind of plan. Maybe invest in a bunch of insulation for a freezer in the garage. 🙂

  2. February 9, 2012 8:41 pm

    This is wonderful! I am so proud of you Kristy, and Daja too. It’s a real “feel good” place to go, and have a friend help with life’s up and downs. After all, we are really all in this together! I really do need someone to help me plan…..I sit here now eating crunchy peanut butter from the jar with a non-sharp knife! Meal plans here I come….. ❤ Lynn

  3. February 16, 2012 9:40 am

    Just thought I’d mention… I have some beans and cans simmering right now!! Gonna can me a bunch of beans. 🙂 Inspired by you!!

    • February 16, 2012 2:52 pm

      That’s awesome Karen! Due to some scheduling conflicts around here, I haven’t got mine done yet, but there are still two weeks left in February. It’s gonna happen!

      • February 17, 2012 3:27 pm

        Does steamed broccoli count?

Trackbacks

  1. Prayer for Week of February 6–Tranquility « The Provision Room
  2. Help For Your New Year’s Resolutions! « The Provision Room

Leave a Reply

